Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Problems with Zone Alarm

    This is a discussion on Problems with Zone Alarm within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm having strange intermittent problems with ZA basic. PC boots up fine, connects fine, then at some point it will ...

    1. #1
      nomy's Avatar
      nomy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01565
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Cheshire
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems with Zone Alarm

      I'm having strange intermittent problems with ZA basic. PC boots up fine, connects fine, then at some point it will no longer load web pages from both IE and Firefox. Although I can still send and receive emails. It's definitely a problem with ZA, because if I close it down and use windows firewall all is well.

      Should I just use the Windows firewall, or are there any settings within ZA that could be causing the problems?

      I must stress that ZA will sometimes work all day with no problems, then for no apparent reason, it will stop allowing web traffic.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Problems with Zone Alarm

      I dont know how this will effect it, We used to have a tool which limits the ammount of Online Time e.g. After 2Hrs the internet wont work!
      *Brilliant for anoying Sisters & Brothers*

      Maybe ZA has its own feature like that?

    4. #3
      andycswt's Avatar
      andycswt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdare
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Zone Alarm

      Quote Originally Posted by nomy View Post
      I'm having strange intermittent problems with ZA basic. PC boots up fine, connects fine, then at some point it will no longer load web pages from both IE and Firefox. Although I can still send and receive emails. It's definitely a problem with ZA, because if I close it down and use windows firewall all is well.

      Should I just use the Windows firewall, or are there any settings within ZA that could be causing the problems?

      I must stress that ZA will sometimes work all day with no problems, then for no apparent reason, it will stop allowing web traffic.

      I had the exact same problem mate, very annoying isn't it. Connected to the internet but no web pages? Yes it is Zonealarm, Click on the firewall tab on zonealarm screen and check boxes that allow outgoing DNS/DHCP in trusted zone and internet zone.. sorted my problem immediately. Why it stopped them intermittently i don't know, but what a pain it is/was.. good luck, let me know if it works for you..
      Last edited by andycswt; 06-01-07 at 04:45 PM.

    5. #4
      nomy's Avatar
      nomy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01565
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Cheshire
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Zone Alarm

      Thanks for that andycswt. I'm listening to some streaming audio footy atm, so I'll try in 45 min

    6. #5
      nomy's Avatar
      nomy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01565
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Cheshire
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Zone Alarm

      Not sure if you have ZA Pro, I only have the basic, but I found the check boxes you refer to in: Firewall/Main (tab)/Advanced. I've checked the two boxes you refer to and all is ok so far.

      I'll update this thread in a couple of days un case anyone else does a search for similar problems in the future.

      Thanks...

    7. #6
      nomy's Avatar
      nomy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01565
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Cheshire
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Zone Alarm

      Ok, many thanks andycswt, I followed your advice and I have had no dropped connections at all since Saturday.

      Sorted

      Let's hope this solution helps others.

      Many thanks.

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Zone Alarm

      Well thats great news thanks to everyone for helping as this problem has now been resolved I will now close the thread.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION