Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Available in southampton?

    This is a discussion on Available in southampton? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi... new here, thought I would post to get an opinion, or two. Basically I was told that sky broadband ...

    1. #1
      Dimebag's Avatar
      Dimebag is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down Available in southampton?

      Hi... new here, thought I would post to get an opinion, or two.

      Basically I was told that sky broadband was available from the 24th in southampton, I rang up on the 3rd of August and was told it was launching in exactly 3 weeks.

      Registered my interest at my new address etc.

      Moved in and got sky installed no problems, called back on the 24th to be told it still wasnt available. On the same phone call the man said if i re-registered my interest there and then it would somehow update his computer and let him have a more accurate picture as to whether the service was available.

      He came back after taking my details saying it was. I would apparently get a letter through the post in 1 to 2 weeks.

      Only problem is in a previous phone call the lady told me sky are using easynet as their provider. Easynet are not active in southampton at all and there appear to be no pending dates as to when any LLU activity will occur.

      So what do I assume, the guy has magic computer powers that enable him to click a button and physically install and activate easynet kit in BT exchanges? I somehow doubt it. Adslguide/easynet themselves and samknows.co.uk all list the southampton exchange as being bulldog LLU only with no pending easynet changes. So I've been lied to?

      So where exactly do I stand here? Did the guy on the phone lie to me to keep my interest with sky broadband? It all seemed a little surreal at the time, the whole process. As it happens I've been in the new place now waiting on the service for a month, its still not available when I've been told it is, and I still have utterly no idea as to when im expecting to get a service. All this time could be better spent going with a company that can actually provide me with a connection I feel, rather than sitting around wondering.

      Can anyone shed any light on the truth here?
      Is there anyone around my area with the service?
      I've had an email this morning saying that "there is high demand" for the service and it will be there "as soon as possible". Just an automated peice of crap with no real information and no one to reply to.

      Getting a bit annoyed about the whole situation to be honest.

      Cheers

      Paul


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      have you got an exchange name?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Dimebag

      No he never lied to you if you are not able to recive LLU which is Easynet you will be offered the Connent package wich is MAXadsl and has a 40 gig a month cap.

      Hope this helps you a little for more infor on the packages there is a link on this to to them.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      oh yeah i forgot welcome to skyuser.co.uk




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Smile

      er yeah... exchange name is "southampton".

      Southampton central, but i think its just listed as southampton.
      I live a whole 150m away from it so speeds should be good.

      If you could get some information on this I'd be most greatful!

      Thanks

      Paul

    7. #6
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      Welcome to the site Dimebag

      No he never lied to you if you are not able to recive LLU which is Easynet you will be offered the Connent package wich is MAXadsl and has a 40 gig a month cap.

      Hope this helps you a little for more infor on the packages there is a link on this to to them.

      I asked to be specifically signed up to the Max package and was told that was available over the phone.

      Cheers

      Paul

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      er yeah... exchange name is "southampton".
      I live in St Helens, but my exchange is called "marshalls cross" hence why i asked - you are quite correct Southampton don't even look like there is any signs of life from easynet

      I asked to be specifically signed up to the Max package and was told that was available over the phone.
      It is impossible the staff member made the wrong call however things change on a daily basis re exchanges, so i would keep checking. I know this is not good news for you at the moment, but hopefully soon............




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Aye, thanks for confirming what I thought myself... things dont look grand.
      Possibly time to order from another provider I feel then
      Shame because the deal is a cracker.

      Yeah its possible that the person made a mistake, but it was done in such a concise way I cant help but feel it was intentional to lead me on and keep my interest.

      "Oh im sorry its not available, give me all your details again though and it'll will 'update' my screen and i'll be able to give you a better picture"
      "What package is it you want, the max one? I've just checked again and it is available now!"

      Eh?

      Sure mate... whatever you say

    10. #9
      mrmojo's Avatar
      mrmojo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Easynet are not providing RFS dates to the public, so they could have the kit up and running next week - indeed easynet rolled out 44 exchanges in one week without a peep before then that they were coming.

      So it could be quite soon.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION