Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Very annoying connection problem - help needed please

    This is a discussion on Very annoying connection problem - help needed please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey guys, I have my sky router set up so that i use the ethernet cable and my sister and ...

    1. #1
      jpmad4it's Avatar
      jpmad4it is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Lancs, UK
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Very annoying connection problem - help needed please

      Hey guys,

      I have my sky router set up so that i use the ethernet cable and my sister and Dad use the wireless. Its all set up great and was working great until around 2-3 days ago. Me, my sister and my Dad are having problems connecting everytime we turn on our computers. Everything is set up correctly and the only solution I have found is to reset or unplug the router, and then we are able to connect once its done. Has anyone else had this problem? Its very annoying as I have to keep adding both my Dad's and sister's devices to the allowed devices under the access control in the wireless router settings. Does this sound like I may have a dodgey router?? I just cant think of anything else that it could be?

      Any help would be fantastic.

      Regards Jonathan


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jpmad4it's Avatar
      jpmad4it is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Lancs, UK
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      oh i am having so much fun talking to sky technical support

      its only taken me 5 phone calls and a 35 minute hold on my call to get through to the higher level of technical support...... they have dropped my speed to the max that my line can take, which is 2MB. It was set to 16MB - the unlimited package - the tech guy said that hopefully it should be more stable now and if i get probs I have to ring back. Anyone had a similar issue?

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts


      And capping your line is a solution to a wireless connection issue?

      There seems to be an increasing danger in contacting Sky technical as their one and only answer seems to be to cap the connection

      Can you post your stats please. I'm really curious to see what they are.

    5. #4
      Disillusioned's Avatar
      Disillusioned is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton Bristol
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      North Bristol
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I had exactly the same thought about their response!! What exactly does line speed have to do with wireless?

      I am doing my damnedest to stay away from Sky Tech Support. Thanks to everyone who has made that possible so far.
      ~Computing today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning~

    6. #5
      jpmad4it's Avatar
      jpmad4it is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Lancs, UK
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post


      And capping your line is a solution to a wireless connection issue?

      There seems to be an increasing danger in contacting Sky technical as their one and only answer seems to be to cap the connection

      Can you post your stats please. I'm really curious to see what they are.
      Which stats would you like me to post?

      Its not just a wireless issue though - it affects both wireless and ethernet connections. I think its a dodgey router. Don't worry i will be ringing back tomorrow evening asking them to uncap my speed and offer some other solution.

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Please post your upstream and downstream connection speed, line attenuation and noise margin.

    8. #7
      jpmad4it's Avatar
      jpmad4it is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Lancs, UK
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sorry for being a complete newbie, but how do I do that? I can get the upstream but i'm not sure about the others - are there guides on these forums anywhere?

    9. #8
      Disillusioned's Avatar
      Disillusioned is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton Bristol
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      North Bristol
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Login to your router (username admin, Password sky). Go to the bottom of the page and press the 'Show Statistics' button. Copy the information from the pop-up box.
      ~Computing today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning~

    10. #9
      jpmad4it's Avatar
      jpmad4it is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Lancs, UK
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ah so its as easy as that :-)

      I will get that done as soon as I get home from work this evening. Look out for my post.............

    11. #10
      jpmad4it's Avatar
      jpmad4it is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Lancs, UK
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Here are my stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 12.3 db 13.0 db

      Its fine when its connected - the problem is that its not connected enough!

      EDIT: I rang technical support again this evening, and after trying 3 different operators i finally got through to a higher level of support. Guess what - they wanted to cap my connection even further??? I asked why and they said it makes the connection more stable. I agreed, but asked for them not to cap it anymore. The guy was ok about that and he 'did some more tests' (whatever that means) and he said it 'should' be ok (just what they said last night). If its not OK I have to ring AGAIN and this time they will think about sending a new router out to me. So that means another hour of messing around trying to get the operators to understand what the hell I am saying.

      EDIT2: Those stats dont really mean much to me, but I'm guessing they mean a lot more to some of you guys? I was setting up my friends' sky BB tonight, and his is similar to mine - constant disconnections etc. Maybe sky BB is just no-good in my area!!! The technical guy from sky said that I am 6Km from the exchange, and he said that is a long way and may affect the quality of my connection??
      Last edited by jpmad4it; 04-01-07 at 12:56 AM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION