Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Setting up Home Web Server with Sky Broadband

    This is a discussion on Setting up Home Web Server with Sky Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yep, Works fine! Tracert; Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600] (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp. D:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>tracert SaakiBains.com > Home ...

    1. #11
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Yep, Works fine!

      Tracert;

      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      D:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>tracert SaakiBains.com > Home

      Tracing route to SaakiBains.com > Home [208.67.219.40]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 48 ms 52 ms 48 ms cr0.wmrj.uk.easynet.net [195.189.159.54]
      3 34 ms 33 ms 33 ms 80.238.50.65
      4 236 ms 41 ms 39 ms ip-89-200-132-80.ov.easynet.net [89.200.132.80]

      5 40 ms 39 ms 39 ms te-3-3.r00.londen05.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [83.231.14
      6.65]
      6 40 ms 39 ms 39 ms xe-3-2.r00.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3
      .46]
      7 40 ms 39 ms 39 ms xe-0-1-0.r22.londen03.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250
      .2.77]
      8 108 ms 108 ms 107 ms p64-1-0-0.r21.nycmny01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
      0.2.38]
      9 136 ms 137 ms 135 ms p64-0-3-0.r21.chcgil09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
      0.5.4]
      10 135 ms 134 ms 136 ms xe-0-0-0.r20.chcgil09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250
      .2.237]
      11 181 ms 180 ms * p64-2-1-0.r20.sttlwa01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
      0.5.28]
      12 207 ms 197 ms 197 ms p64-2-2-0.r21.mlpsca01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
      0.4.23]
      13 197 ms 196 ms 197 ms xe-0-2-0.r21.plalca01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250
      .3.51]
      14 198 ms 197 ms 197 ms xe-4-1.r04.plalca01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4
      .122]
      15 371 ms 198 ms 197 ms fa-3-3.a04.plalca01.us.ce.verio.net [140.174.21.
      166]
      16 198 ms 197 ms 197 ms ip-208-67-219-40.n.opendns.com [208.67.219.40]

      Trace complete.

      D:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      My home webserver works great, so good infact i've now got a dedicated server running it and i'm soon to use the paid dyndns service to host a proper .com web site for my web design company

      Is there a way to "throttle" a connection either in IIS 5 or another application to limit the upload speed to users? Also, is there a limit to sky connects "upload limit", I know there download limit is 40GB.
      Last edited by hellfire18; 04-01-07 at 09:46 AM.

    4. #13
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      The limit is 40gb thats for both, download and upload, How you wish to use it!

      In Apache's conig.ini you can change the settings for the speeds, i.e. Max Connections, However I havent ever used it to restrict speeds!

      Just a heads up, Sky dont allow their connection be used for Servers of Business Use!

    5. #14
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      yeh i get the site up 2

    6. #15
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Andy? Whats the link, Maybe we could have a look?

    7. #16
      Indigo's Avatar
      Indigo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Home Web Server with Sky Broadband

      Thanks for all your help guys. Much appreciated.
      Like they say when it comes to perseverence, "Saints are sinners who just keep going."

    8. #17
      Indigo's Avatar
      Indigo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Home Web Server with Sky Broadband

      Hi Guys, I've got my home website running on a laptop fine.

      However because Sky use DHCP as opposed to Static IP addresses, whenever my router is assigned a new ip address, I have to manually reconfigure the IP address of my website on my domain service provider's hosting website (zoneedit.com).

      My questions are:

      Is there a utility I can run on my laptop that automatically reconfigure's my website's IP address, via my domain service provider's hosting website, to the dynamically assigned IP address of my router?

      Does anyone else use zoneedit.com to host their website(s)?

      Thanks for your help.

    9. #18
      armitasp's Avatar
      armitasp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Home Web Server with Sky Broadband


    10. #19
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Setting up Home Web Server with Sky Broadband

      Moved to Sky Broadband Help
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    11. #20
      ricflairandy's Avatar
      ricflairandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Home Web Server with Sky Broadband

      does anyone know why you cant access it internally via the dns or external ip?

      This used to be fine when i was on pipex with my linksys router. Cant understand why it doesnt work with sky and the netgear.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION