Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    how fast ?

    This is a discussion on how fast ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; just signed up for sky and my line is being changed to llu they said when siging up i will ...

    1. #1
      idmanager's Avatar
      idmanager is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question how fast ?

      just signed up for sky and my line is being changed to llu
      they said when siging up i will get 6mb. can anybody confirm what they get if there line has the same spec as mine

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2272 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 24.1 db 31.0 db

      im on zen 2mb home at the moment and 6mb will be great but 10mb would
      be fab....



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      With my attenuation of 46 I can get 7700kbps stable during the evening. I can get much higher (almost 10000kbps stable) during the day.

      PS - that is by converting my master socket otherwise it was about only 3.5mbps tops.

    4. #3
      idmanager's Avatar
      idmanager is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      converting my master socket ??

      i have had adsl a long time BT fitted a adsl faceplate in the office where we have the pc ( the only way to get adsl was for a engineer visit there was no home install)

      more info on converting my master socket please

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      swapping the standard BT faceplate for an ADSLnation filtered faceplate:

      ADSL Nation - XTE-2005 - Filtered Master Faceplate

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      @idmanager

      By all means look to improve your connection quality but unless your BT ADSL faceplate has failed or degraded (which is possible) you should be able to get speeds of up to ~7500kbps with that attenuation and your current wiring.

      When you get switched over compare a connection between the existing faceplate and the test socket which you'll find behind it. If you get a significant jump in connection speed then you need a new faceplate.

      Note when you switch to LLU ADSL2+ your attenuation will change a little.

    7. #6
      beaks's Avatar
      beaks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Interrogate your modem, if you are connected on G:dmt, it is a max of 8MB and you won't achieve any higher, unless you are on max, you shouldn't be on this anyways, but sky seem shy on telling customers their exchanges are at capacity and the customer will never achive between 8-16MB unless connected via ADSL2+.

    8. #7
      idmanager's Avatar
      idmanager is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how fast ?

      Distance from the exchange You are around 1.83 kilometres from your exchange (as the crow flies).

      down:
      Connection Speed 6400 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.7 db

      up:
      Connection Speed 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.5 db
      Noise Margin 13.0 db

      speed test
      5437 kbps

      what speed should i get ?
      how do you know your connected via adsl2 and not just adslmax ?
      Last edited by idmanager; 08-01-07 at 09:20 PM.

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how fast ?

      Stats don't look to bad but the speed test link is kind of broken so no idea what you got.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: how fast ?

      @Wheelie, The speed they got is 5437 kbps!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION