Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    No Ethernet Port

    This is a discussion on No Ethernet Port within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all I'm thinking of transferring to Sky Broadband but I haven't got an Ethernet Port on my computer is ...

    1. #1
      Magpie's Avatar
      Magpie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No Ethernet Port

      Hi all I'm thinking of transferring to Sky Broadband but I haven't got an Ethernet Port on my computer is there a suitable adaptor I can buy to overcome this?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi,

      Provided you have a spare PCI slot in the PC a suitable ethernet adaptor should cost about a fiver. If you don't have a spare PCI slot then a wireless USB adaptor will cost from 10 to 20 quid. There are a few USB Ethernet adaptors around but I don't know how much you'd have to pay.

      The best solution would be a PCI ethernet card. Check out ebuyer.com - the UK's largest independent online retailer of computers, components, electronics, MP3 Players,cameras, televisions, DVD Players, car audio, software and more... but watch out for the extortionate postage charge. Alternatively your local PC shop should sort you out.

      To find out if you have a spare PCI slot, you'll need to open the PC case. Don't touch anything inside, just look whether there is a white slot type connector free. Have a look at the pictures of PCI cards on ebuyer and you'll get the idea of what the slot will look like.

      If you are running windows, just about any ethernet card will do.

      Hope this helps.

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      If you have USB, you would be better off buying the Sky USB Wireless adaptor, it is 20.00 and very easy to setup. If you get stuck, you can ask us on here. Sky would give you support on this as well.

      If you have a spare PCI slot, then your local PC shop would fit one for about 20.00 fitted tops. If you are confident enough yourself, about a fiver as already pointed out.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Also @Magpie, If that is your phone number in your profile, Please remove it for security purposes!

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      @ Fibre - I have removed - thx




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Cor.

      Did that URL automatically get changed to a blatant sales plug for ebuyer?

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      We have some software which rewrites the urls for search engine performance, as you noticed it drags all the info from the relevant url.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
      @ Magpie

      Yes there are plenty of adapters that you can buy that will plug into your computers USB port, here is one for 95p plus postage:

      Amazon.co.uk: Usb to lan RJ45: Electronics & Photo

    10. #9
      Magpie's Avatar
      Magpie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks to all.

    11. #10
      antwigan's Avatar
      antwigan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRLFC
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Gods Country WIGAN
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
      @ Magpie

      Yes there are plenty of adapters that you can buy that will plug into your computers USB port, here is one for 95p plus postage:

      Amazon.co.uk: Usb to lan RJ45: Electronics & Photo
      can you get top speed though USB 1? Won't it just bottle neck him?


      They'll never change us. God help those who try.

      Rugby League, never Rugby Union. Fight the Bigots.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION