Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Connection question!

    This is a discussion on Connection question! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone hoe someone can help I have read quite a few post here to try and improve my connection ...

    1. #1
      PotShot's Avatar
      PotShot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bwidlington
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connection question!

      Hi everyone hoe someone can help

      I have read quite a few post here to try and improve my connection

      Sky Connect btw
      I am connected according to my router at 4704 D/L
      I connected downstairs to find the same figure ( Ish)

      removed the faceplate and tested there got 7130 ish

      That looks good BUT when ever I have enquired about speed to Sky and previously Pipex they told me I had a max of about 4.5
      So what I am asking if I can sort the faceplate thing out do you think I will connect at a higher speed

      A download test at 7130 didnt prove to download any quicker

      I think I know what the answer will be but hopefully someone will know for sure...

      Data rate
      4704 448

      Noise margin
      5.8 15.0

      Output power
      19.7 12.1

      Attenuation
      48.0 27.0

      Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Cyrus's Avatar
      Cyrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Streetly - CMSTRE
      Broadband ISP: Max, 15.3MB Downstream! B E A Utiful
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Streetly
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Noise looks a little low, tier 3 can atempt to alter that for you, it just might improve things for you.
      "If you are planning for a year, sow rice;
      if you are planning for a decade, plant trees;
      if you are planning for a lifetime, educate people."

    4. #3
      PotShot's Avatar
      PotShot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bwidlington
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What should I just ring and say alter my noise?

      Thanks for the reply

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Yes - you could ask Sky to cap you

      Alternatively, if your noise margin tends to drop below ~6.2db (not sure if this is the right figure for Connect) which is the point that connection problems may begin, you can sort this out yourself very easily and not have to suffer Sky crippling your speed.

      Bear in mind you are on Connect so any changes you try to make to your connection speed may not have an instant effect.

      Have a look here. You'll find two methods to "lock" your router at a higher noise margin: a simple sequence of reboots or by using a utility. The former requires no technical knowledge, the latter, a little. Don't do this more than 10 times in an hour as with Connect this cause the DLM to think you have an unstable line which may mess things up for you.

      A quality filtered replacement faceplate for your master socket will give similar results to the test socket. If you have a higher connection speed you may need to optimise your TCP/IP settings to see the benefit in download speeds.
      Last edited by Saturday; 29-12-06 at 07:23 PM. Reason: Added Connect info

    6. #5
      PotShot's Avatar
      PotShot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bwidlington
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thank you very much

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Please note the Connect info I added to the above post

    8. #7
      PotShot's Avatar
      PotShot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bwidlington
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      That went Woooshh over my head...

      Why would it take time?
      would the ten day thing start again?
      What causes the 10 day thing to restart?

      When I first got Sky ( early december) it was a little "crap" but it seems to have sorted itself out
      Wasnt till I read here about the 10 day thing that I guessed it must have been something to do with it!

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Connect uses a (complex) rate adaption method whereby the exchange equipment determines the maximum stable rate for your line over an initial 10 day period. If you subsequently make changes to your router, though this may be instantly seen by the exchange, it may not trigger a change to the settings the exchange equipment has determined.

      No rebooting 10 times in an hour won't trigger a new 10 day training period (only Sky (actually BT) can do that) but it will probably cause the exchange to lower your maximum stable rate (i.e. your connection speed). In effect the DLM will increase the noise margin and hence lower the speed. It's a bit more complicated than that in that the DLM change will generate a sync event which will then perform a BRAS change (don't ask!).

      Trust me on this: get your line as noise free as possible (fit a filtered replacement faceplate), make sure your noise margin doesn't drop too low (though again with Connect this shouldn't be necessary and can cause problems) and optimise your TCP/IP settings. You'll then have as good a connection as you can (easily) get.

    10. #9
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The general Tier 3 staff can't deal with Connect customers if it's a connection issue which needs DSLAM work. BT don't give Sky direct access to the DSLAMs like there is for the non-connect packages. The only way a cap can be imposed or line tweaks made (if at all) is by submitting a fault ticket to BT, which is Tier 2's job in the first instance.
      This is the same for all ISPs.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION