Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Router Lights flashing

    This is a discussion on Router Lights flashing within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All Could anybody advise on this, my daughters connection on sky b mid was working ok, but the router ...

    1. #1
      Robbo's Avatar
      Robbo is offline Member
      Exchange: E. port
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      E.port
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Router Lights flashing

      Hi All
      Could anybody advise on this, my daughters connection on sky b mid was working ok, but the router now only boots up with two lights alternately flashing(the on/off and the tick). We can not access the router through ethernet ie admin/sky log on box does not appear. The phone line is working ok. Have tried the router on my PC and connection but same result.
      Can we say that the router is U/S or is there a fix for this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Have you tried pressing in the reset button through the pinhole at the back of the router? It may work, hold it in for about 15 seconds.

    4. #3
      Robbo's Avatar
      Robbo is offline Member
      Exchange: E. port
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      E.port
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sorry yes tried that No change cheers

    5. #4
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Oh well always worth a try

      Has she/you phoned sky to check if there is an outage problem in the area?

    6. #5
      Robbo's Avatar
      Robbo is offline Member
      Exchange: E. port
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      E.port
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I am actually on the same exchange, but they did do a line check when we phoned them then they said they would pass it up to technical and they would phone back in three to five days four days ago however it is Christmas.

    7. #6
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      It could be a card fault, you and she may be on different cards at the exchange?

      You could try ringing back with your ticket number and asking to be put through to tier three. This is best done from the phone line in question.

    8. #7
      Robbo's Avatar
      Robbo is offline Member
      Exchange: E. port
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      E.port
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ok will do, but why can't I access the Netgear router you dont need the phone line connected do you?

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      You should be able to admin the router without a phone line, yes




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      This sounds like the mode the router goes into when you need to run the Netgear Recovery Utility. See link below;

      Recovery Utility

      You will need to use the firmware supplied on the Sky get started CD though, so that you do not break the T&C's.

      Worth a try as long as you undertsand that flashing firmware can in itself be risky!

      I had no problems with this utility though when I used it.

      What I dont undertsand, is what caused your router to end up in this condition in the first place?

    11. #10
      Robbo's Avatar
      Robbo is offline Member
      Exchange: E. port
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      E.port
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for that will give that a go as it will not do anything at all at the moment Aint got a clue as to why it happened.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION