Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Problem with internet & XP Pro

    This is a discussion on Problem with internet & XP Pro within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Good morning my father in law upgraded his windows system from ME to XP Pro and since the upgrade he ...

    1. #1
      Whop21's Avatar
      Whop21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problem with internet & XP Pro

      Good morning my father in law upgraded his windows system from ME to XP Pro and since the upgrade he has been unable to go online and surf the net. We have checked the sky broadband box and it appears to be fine. Any help would be great.
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Firstly, are you connected wirelessly? If so there's an XP patch to allow WPA encryption.

      Then check that the network settings are set to obtain IP and DNS automatically.

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Are you connected via Wireless or the Network (ethernet) card?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If he upgraded the OS rather than installing it fresh then it's likely he'll have to install the network interface drivers again, unless WinXP has it's own.
      This is because Windows ME and XP are totally different. IMHO it's never a good idea to upgrade. Wipe the system and start from new.

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Another question, If it didnt install the network cards drivers automatically, When he first rebooted, He would have been presented with loads of those baloons in the system tray asking him to install drivers!

      When he wouldv opened Internet Explorer it would have said, Please choose an ISP to connect with?

    7. #6
      Whop21's Avatar
      Whop21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cheers for the replies.
      For the upgrade it was just a case of placing the cd in and off we go. Regarding the connection its connected straight to the broadband box hope this helps? I have noticed something interesting though....when I click on file and properties while in internet explorer it says someting like C:system32\dpoll\somethingelse\Sky Broadband - Home again any further ideas?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION