Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Massive drop in download speeds!!

    This is a discussion on Massive drop in download speeds!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Got Sky Broadband Connect last Monday (18-Dec) and during this training period I was getting test speeds of 0.5 Mbps ...

    1. #1
      joepsion2000's Avatar
      joepsion2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pencoed
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Massive drop in download speeds!!

      Got Sky Broadband Connect last Monday (18-Dec) and during this training period I was getting test speeds of 0.5 Mbps to 6.0 Mbps with an average of around 3-4 Mbps. However since Saturday the speed has been stuck at 0.3-0.4 Mbps. I tested the speed early evening on Saturday (4.9 Mbps) then moved the router to another room to test it there. After moving it back to the original location with the identical wiring, the speed had dropped (an hour later) to 0.4 Mbps and has been stuck there since.

      My line sats are pretty good - downstream connection speed is 8128 kbps / line attenuation is 23.0db and noise margin 9.1 db. Shouldn't I be getting good speeds with these figures?

      I have rebooted the router both via browser and by needle in the back of router.
      Also I have tested both via wireless and ethernet connection and the speed is the same ie rubbish!!

      Have I messed up the "training period"by moving the router? Is there any way to restart this "training period"or can anyone think of any other possible issues?

      Thanks,
      Joe


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      If the router is showing you synched at 8128, then you are getting 8128 coming into your house and restarting the training period or rebooting wont help.

      Try the Speed Optimiser Optimising your Broadband Connection

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      That 8128 that is showing is NOT (most likely) what you will get! As they set you at 8128 and during the training period and measure what your transfer rate was and set you at it!

      Tweaking doesnt really make a difference on CONNECT, Especially in the Training Period,
      Last edited by Keiran2K8; 26-12-06 at 11:21 AM.

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Have a read of; http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/other...46-maxdsl.html


      It explains the process of the ten day period!

    6. #5
      joepsion2000's Avatar
      joepsion2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pencoed
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Still testing my connection - thought it might be the extension so have been testing with different telephone cable (RJ11?) from router to filter and with different microfilters. Also moved the router closer to the master socket.

      Strange thing is after all this testing, which gave similar 400ishkbps speed results, I put the router back in its previous location which is at the end of a 5m extension, there was no dial tone on the phone and the router synced at only 1,000kbps.

      Put the router/telephone nearer the master socket, ie bypassing the suspect extension and the dial tone returned/router synced at 8192kbps.
      So it seems there was a problem with the extension.
      However does this mean that I am stuck at the standard stable rate that BT has set for me or will the router still try to connect at better rates during the remainder (2 days?) of my 10 day training period?

      Is there any way to restart the training period or request that it be restarted as the results (may) have been corrupted by the dodgy extension?

      Thanks for the input everyone,
      Joe

    7. #6
      joepsion2000's Avatar
      joepsion2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pencoed
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Situation has not resolved itself (getting speeds of 0.2-0.5 Mbps) so ended up phoning Sky BB tonight. First call was to a (Scottish?) call centre - went through problems I had, slow d/l speeds despite good line attenuation and noise margin. Ended up with the guy ("Chris") saying that a download speed of 0.5Mbps was normal. Then line went dead, assume he hung up on me!!

      Phoned back later and got a different (Indian?) call centre. "Andy" was a lot more helpful and ran through a number of line checks which resulted in him saying that as the router was connecting at 8128 kbps my normal download rate would be 5.6-5.7Mbps!! He couldn't resolve it himself so raised a ticket to Tier 2 and said someone would phone me back within 48 hours - by New Year's Eve.

      At least some progress?!

      Cheers,
      Joe

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION