Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Advice on broadband provider

    This is a discussion on Advice on broadband provider within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I am currently with Ntlworld on 1mb broadband for 17.99, I have been receiving emails from Sky broadband(as i ...

    1. #1
      whitts76's Avatar
      whitts76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Advice on broadband provider

      Hi

      I am currently with Ntlworld on 1mb broadband for 17.99, I have been receiving emails from Sky broadband(as i am with sky + tv) offering their packages, however I do not have a bt landline, is this needed for Sky?
      I dont really want to pay 129.99 for a line to be installed...so if this is the case is there another broadband provider I can use with a NTL phone line?
      I have probably jumped the gun a little as my broadband is due to be cancelled on the 3rd of Jan, I have read elsewhere that Ntl offered other customers real bargains to stay, this was not the case with me however.
      I would like a faster download speed with a possible unlimited download.
      Can anyone help me please?

      Chris


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Yes you will need to change your line from them to BT

      I would like a faster download speed with a possible unlimited download.
      Only possible if your line supports it.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...-packages.html

      Have a look at that to give you an idea what Sky could offer you.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
      Thats an interesting question, I have not heard of anyone I know being able to use any other provider on an NTL line other than NTL. I dont know what gives NTL the right to hog the line like that were as BT are forced by law to share there lines with all and sundrie! But I do believe it is correct that NTL line only NTL broadband.
      However my Aunt went through this with them a few weeks ago, pushed for a better price they said "No Way"! It was only when she ordered Sky and rang NTL and said I am ringing to cancel my account, They then put her through to there customer retention department who did offer her a very good price to stay but it was too late as she had already signed for Sky and I think she was that hacked off with NTL not budging on the price the first time she decided she was going and that was it!

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts
      We have NTL in Preston. When it was first installed it was just for cable tv. They have since expanded it to provide phone & broadband. They put there own fibreoptic network in which is totally seperate from BT. i think this is why they dont have to share the network with anyone else.
      I may be totaly wrong though as I have started on the xmas beer !!!!
      dave

    6. #5
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by whitts76 View Post
      I am currently with Ntlworld on 1mb broadband for 17.99

      I dont really want to pay 129.99 for a line to be installed
      17.99 * 12 months = 215.88
      10 * 12 months + 129.99 = 249.99

      If you went for a BT line and had the Sky MAX package it'll only cost you an extra 34.11 in the first year. In year two you save 95.88.

      If you go for the BT line, remember that there's a 13(?) / month charge for line rental (which is 156 / year).

      You won't be able to get anyother ISP on your current NTL lines.

    7. #6
      Cyrus's Avatar
      Cyrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Streetly - CMSTRE
      Broadband ISP: Max, 15.3MB Downstream! B E A Utiful
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Streetly
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I little bird tells me that you probably won't pay the full 129.99 if you are a new customer with BT migrating from NTL. Give BT a call and ask nicely!
      "If you are planning for a year, sow rice;
      if you are planning for a decade, plant trees;
      if you are planning for a lifetime, educate people."

    8. #7
      Jackson_50's Avatar
      Jackson_50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      RE:

      NTL (as i understand it) cannot offer you access to normal ADSL services like BT do, theyre whole PSTN structure is totally different. Digital i think rather than analogue. I always wondered the very same thing myself until a friend of mine (an NTL Engineer) explained it all to me.

      But back on topic....
      If its savings your after on your internet costs, then sky is a possiblity. But if your after a steady internet connection (where speeds tend not to fluctuate) then i would stick with NTL.

      ^^ Just my opinion.
      Last edited by Jackson_50; 25-12-06 at 05:30 PM.

    9. #8
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Since NTL and telewest have started traffic shaping, it depends on the hoe you wish to use your BB.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION