Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Please check my stats..

    This is a discussion on Please check my stats.. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I'm new to sky bb after moving from bulldog. I was due to go active on the 21st ...

    1. #1
      par4's Avatar
      par4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: DIDSBURY
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Please check my stats..

      Hi all,

      I'm new to sky bb after moving from bulldog.

      I was due to go active on the 21st but was up and running on the 20th

      Heres my current stats, supposed to be on the max package




      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7360 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 20.0 db
      Noise Margin 11.4 db 14.0 db
      Last edited by par4; 22-12-06 at 03:37 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      BillyHunt's Avatar
      BillyHunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      From my own experience and from what I've read after a couple of days you will see a big jump in download and upload speed.

      You could try rebooting your router to see if it resyncs higher now.
      I would expect you to see a big improvement in download speed and upload should go to 768 Kbps

      I'm no expert though I've only been on a week myself

    4. #3
      sirsilver's Avatar
      sirsilver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chorlton
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ahhh i see you are from manchester, your stats suggest that either sky have capped your line for stability or your exchange is running at full capacity on its ADSL2+ network and Sky have put you on ADSL1, same thing has happened to me.
      If you want more info i would email

      BroadbandTechnicalSupport@BSkyB.com and ask what the problem is.
      See my thread here

    5. #4
      par4's Avatar
      par4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: DIDSBURY
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for the advice.

      I'll look into it,is it better to ring them or email?

      What speeds should i expect with my current stats?

      edit: I've rebooted a few times and the only thing thats really changed was my down stream which went down to 5k

    6. #5
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      15.5 attenuation is a known glitch on the router, it is probably not accurate. Your noise margin is high though, so it may be you could get more!

    7. #6
      sirsilver's Avatar
      sirsilver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chorlton
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by par4 View Post
      Thanks for the advice.

      I'll look into it,is it better to ring them or email?

      What speeds should i expect with my current stats?

      edit: I've rebooted a few times and the only thing thats really changed was my down stream which went down to 5k
      I`ve had a more positive response via email than phone, as for what speed you should be getting with your stats if that attenuation figure is correct then i would expect speeds of at least 12 to 13k

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION