Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    extension

    This is a discussion on extension within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; im new to this site. but what a great site, really helped me when setting up my internet (unlimited package). ...

    1. #1
      qwerty2100's Avatar
      qwerty2100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      extension

      im new to this site. but what a great site, really helped me when setting up my internet (unlimited package).

      When the engineer came round to install the router he didnt put it in the main phone socket (it will only work in the main phone socket).

      the main phone socket is downstairs and all the computers are upstairs.

      so instead of me buying wireless network cards, what will speed up the internet faster, a extension phone wire or extension asdl wire?

      thanks guys


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The best solution is a long RJ45 (Ethernet) cable between the PC and the router. Then you can put the router right near the main socket where it get's the best connection speed. Second best is a wireless connection with the router near the master socket.

      Avoid having any kind of extension at all between the master socket and the input of the router if you want the best speed. Also, disconnect any unused phone extensions from the master socket.

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      I agree with Hoagie that extensions are best avoided.

      Whilst ethernet would be the preferred choice in most circumstances, it sounds like you have more than one computer upstairs so that would mean running more than one ethernet cable or using a hub/switch.

      However, if you would like your router next to your PCs simply buy a long RJ11 cable (that's the one that connects your router to the phone socket). You can easily buy one up to 25m for about £10 delivered. You should see little if any difference between a short RJ11 and a long one in terms of impact on your connection speed/stability so this would be a good solution for you.

      Also, you say "it will only work in the main phone socket". This suggests that you have a lot of noise from your internal phone wiring and would almost certainly benefit from fitting a replacement filtered faceplate to your master socket. See the cabling and faceplate help forum for details.

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
      I am no expert on telephone wiring, but what I cant get my head round is "If the broadband signal comes down a Bt line from the exchange along a cable maybe a couple of miles long underground and overhead with god knows how many joins and connections it, how can 4 or 5 metres of extra extension cable make any difference? My router is plugged into a hardwired extension and seems to work fine. Maybe I am just the lucky one or there is some really dodgy extension wiring out there.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      or there is some really dodgy extension wiring out there.
      Mine went from 3.2mb to just under 7mb by changing my wiring




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Mine went from 3.2mb to just under 7mb by changing my wiring

      Mmmmm that seems to be the case for alot of people. It dosen't make any difference where I plug my router in. But my extensions were hard wired into the back of the master socket by a BT mate of mine, rather than one of these DIY extension kits maybe thats the difference.

    8. #7
      dazzuk's Avatar
      dazzuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sittingbourne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      209
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Mine went from 3mb to 5.3mb by changing the wiring.
      Dazz
      Got Fibre, Yay!!


    9. #8
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      You need to ensure that ADSL extension leads use quality twisted pair cable, otherwise they are just as bad as a cheap extension kit.

      I re-wired my phone extension to the upstairs room where the router is using CW1308 cable (@20p / metre) and fitted a ‘cheap’ Safecom SAMF-3000 ADSL filter/phone face plate. Then wired direct to the incoming 2&5 wires. (Note no other wires connected). Some use cat 5 network cable instead of CW1308 though.

      Personally, if your talking less than 10-15m of cable I would put the router upstairs as this will also improve wireless performance.

      The only caution I would add is how far are you from the exchange? If on the limits of ADSL (ie 256/512K max speed) you might need to stay at the master socket!

    10. #9
      qwerty2100's Avatar
      qwerty2100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      thanks for the quick reply guys.

      looks like i have to get wireless network cards or longer wire if i am to have a good speed.

      the main BT socket is only a couple months old and was fitted by a BT guy.

      But the router will only work in the main socket.

      so far sky aren't in my Christmas card list

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hope you get it sorted soon, but in all fairness to Sky, your wiring cannot be their fault. Go on send them a card




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION