Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Another incredibly boring but heartfelt newbie plea about connection speed!

    This is a discussion on Another incredibly boring but heartfelt newbie plea about connection speed! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Morning folks, Ok, took the plunge to get the Sky BB Max package a number of weeks ago and had ...

    1. #1
      orbital's Avatar
      orbital is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fishponds (Bristol)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Another incredibly boring but heartfelt newbie plea about connection speed!

      Morning folks,

      Ok, took the plunge to get the Sky BB Max package a number of weeks ago and had the same probs as many others re: delays and the infamous UP&P 15 minute disconnect problem. Thankfully, you guys proved a lifesaver by giving a solution to that (a good job as the replacement router promised by Sky is now 12 days late in arriving) and everything is working....

      ...but is it at the right speed? I know 16meg is only the possible top speed, but am not topping 8meg at the moment - am on the Fishponds (Bristol) exchange, about 1 mile away from me, and all looks good there according to Sam Knows. Wondered if I may've been capped at 8 for some reason.

      Anyway, here's my stats - can anyone let me know if I'm missing something?

      System Up Time 00:45:23

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 10508 9512 0 518 2473 00:43:00
      LAN 10M/100M 11933 12958 0 2925 683 00:45:21
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 12 0 0 0 0 00:45:11

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6864 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 24.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 11.5 db


      Give or take, the above seem fairly stable. Am running it wired at the moment - haven't had a look at the master socket as I really don't trust myself to not mess it up somehow.

      Here's the link to the exchange stats:

      The Broadband Resource


      Thanks folks - any help'd be appreciated.

      Matty


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      No you've not been capped.

      The speed your router will connect at is largely determined by your line attenuation and noise. With your attenuation you could hope for maybe ~7500kbps.

      You're getting close to that and the shortfall may well be down to a bit of noise, probably arising from your internal phone wiring. The only way to see would be to connect to the test socket behind your master socket (assuming you have an NTE5). If you get a speed boost then this is what you should achieve with better filtering on your connection.

    4. #3
      orbital's Avatar
      orbital is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fishponds (Bristol)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks Saturday - much appreciated.

      matt

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Matty

      I agree with Saturday and you should do the master socket test as that will determine one way or another, as long as you remove the faceplate carefully you should have any problem.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      orbital's Avatar
      orbital is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fishponds (Bristol)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      hi guys,

      Took the plunge and tried it in master socket - only change has been a jump from 6864 d/s conn to 7162 d/s conn. Looks like that's as good as it gets

      Matt

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well thats good

      Maybe investing in a filtered faceplate would help now BT NTE-5 master telephone .

      They have helped quite a few members out who have bought and fitted them including myself
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Filtered faceplates are great but with that attenuation it won't increase the speed above ~7500kbps.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION