Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Cannot Login to Tesco/Argos etc

    This is a discussion on Cannot Login to Tesco/Argos etc within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just loaded broadband and can access the internet but it wont allow me to access any sites that need a ...

    1. #1
      terrywood1322's Avatar
      terrywood1322 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cannot Login to Tesco/Argos etc

      Just loaded broadband and can access the internet but it wont allow me to access any sites that need a password i.e Tesco, argos etc. I know all my passwords are correct as I used them on a non sky broadband pc today.

      I can't log into sky broadband for the same reason my user id is valid and so is the password because if I enter an invalid password it tells me.

      Is it a case that I have to wait 24hrs or is there an internet setting that need to be se/unset?

      Any help gratefully appreciated

      Or am I just a "Dumb blonde"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jamesyboy's Avatar
      jamesyboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi,
      Have you installed the mcafee internet security that came with the CD?

      (If not has this problem just happened or how long has it been going on?)

    4. #3
      terrywood1322's Avatar
      terrywood1322 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      yep,

      loaded mcafee at the same time and i have tried to access these sites without any protection just to see if it was that, that was causing the problem. cheers anyway

      dumb blonde

    5. #4
      adumr's Avatar
      adumr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm also not able to log into any sites. I've tried turning off the firewall in mcaffee but i still cant log in anywhere. When i connect wirelessly through my laptop i'm fine which suggests to me it is either mcafee or the sky software which is the problem, but if possible i'd like to keep the free anti-virus software. Does anyone have any suggestions?

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Yep. To put it bluntly dump McAfee and get another free antivirus e.g. AVG free or Avast to name two.

      As you have seemingly found, turning off McAfee doesn't necessarily remove its deleterious effects.

    7. #6
      Jackson_50's Avatar
      Jackson_50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      RE

      This is due to the DNS server. This has been a problem from day one.
      The remedy is to use alternative ones.

      Click on start, go to control panel.
      Open network connections,
      Right click on LAN (ethernet) WLAN (Wireless),
      Choose properties,
      Select 'Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)',
      Click properties button underneath,
      Change DNS settings from 'Obtain automaticly' to 'Use the following DNS....'
      Prefferred = 212.135.1.36
      Alternate = 195.40.1.36
      Click apply/OK,
      Click on Close,

      Open a fresh Browser session, and re-try logging in. It should work.

      Good luck

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Jackson_50 View Post
      This is due to the DNS server.
      No it is not.

      If your response was directed at terrywood, the original poster, then if that were true then we would all be seeing this problem.

      If you are replying to adumr then unless I have misunderstood, adumr says that there is no connection with PC/McAfee but there is with laptop.

      Unless adumr has changed the defaults the router will be set to use DHCP so both PC and laptop are using the same DNS server. If there was a DNS problem then both would be affected.
      Last edited by Saturday; 16-12-06 at 04:07 PM.

    9. #8
      khile's Avatar
      khile is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCLE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      hi this problem is caused by McAfee Redirector which also causes problems with ports servers such as 2082 and so on there is a very easy way to stop this from happening follow the steps below


      To disable/shut-off McAfee Redirector:

      1. RUN services.msc
      2. Locate & Highlight the McAfee Redirector in the List (under the Extended Tab)
      3. Right Click and select Properties
      4. Change the Start-up Type to Disabled
      5. Click OK


      This should resolve you issue

    10. #9
      Jackson_50's Avatar
      Jackson_50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      RE:

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      If your response was directed at terrywood, the original poster, then if that were true then we would all be seeing this problem.
      My post was @ the original author. Yes, theoretically you would think that everyone would experience the same problem. But it's not how it is. There was an known issue from day one were large numbers of users could'nt access secured websites due to the PSI net dns servers which they manage for Sky. It has been said to have been fixed 3 times, but its a re-occuring problem.

      I have a funny feeling thats what is happening in this case.

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      OK - haven't heard about that one. I assume you have some inside knowledge

      So help me understand. Sky have just one DNS address which presumably points to a large server farm. If a number of these servers were affected then surely this problem would be random and intermittent as each time a DNS request was made it would be chance whether it was served by an affected server or not?

      This doesn't seem to be the issue that terrywood was experiencing.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION