Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Router lights - what do they signify

    This is a discussion on Router lights - what do they signify within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Is there a post elsewhere that covers what each of the lights, or light sequences mean. If not, it may ...

    1. #1
      barnsleyfan's Avatar
      barnsleyfan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wombwell
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router lights - what do they signify

      Is there a post elsewhere that covers what each of the lights, or light sequences mean. If not, it may be an idea for a tutorial etc.

      I am due for activation today. When i plug my router into the mains, the 'tick' flashes orange then goes out, after a while the wireless light turns green and stays on. I get no activity at all on the 'i' light. Does this mean i am not yet activated

      If i try the order status on dslzoneuk.net i am told (and have been for the last week) that ADSL is activated on my line and there are no open orders on the BT system. What does this mean ?

      I think this forum is great. However, it is a bit worrying when you read the majority of the posts and don't understand them! It makes you aware of just how many different things can go wrong, and how much hassle you are going to have with Sky if it happens. I wonder how many people would still order with Sky if they knew about this forum beforehand (I think i would have held off for a while)

      Thanks
      Last edited by barnsleyfan; 13-12-06 at 11:33 AM. Reason: typos


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi barnsleyfan

      Good luck for today and hope it all goes to plan

      As for the lights
      the 'tick' flashes orange then goes out
      yep thats all it does so no problems there.
      after a while the wireless light turns green and stays on
      also normal so no problems there.
      I get no activity at all on the 'i' light.
      That will start flashing orange then turn solid green once you are connected.

      If you are using the Ethernet lead then one of the numbers Will also light up green showing an active connection form the PC to the router.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      barnsleyfan's Avatar
      barnsleyfan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wombwell
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks Wheelie

      Just checked the order status on BT website. After a week of not being able to retrieve the details I now get the message:-

      Order reference KLQ*****
      Placed 04 Dec 2006
      Description CHANGE
      Appointment No date yet
      Date due 13 Dec 2006
      Status Order completed
      Last update 13 Dec 2006
      Latest update Your order has been completed.

      PROVIDE LLU LINE SHARE PSTN 1 0.0 0.0

      Does this mean I should have broadband when i get home ?

      Heres hoping that SKY have got their bit sorted ok.

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      That would suggest that you are now connected

      I hope you do find thats the case when you get home

      Good luck.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      barnsleyfan's Avatar
      barnsleyfan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wombwell
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      So far so good

      Plugged in ethernet cable and all appears to be working. Stats are:-

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2714 2482 0 1931 9206 00:05:29
      LAN 10M/100M 2740 3035 0 6705 1540 00:07:58
      WLAN 11M/54M 177 0 0 67 0 00:07:48


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 28.0 db
      Noise Margin 24.7 db 14.0 db

      I realise the speeds are the maximum on the base package, but how does the line attenuation and noise margin look - are they good or bad ?

      Tried a speedtest site and seem to get download speed of about 1700 mbs and upload speed of about 330 mbs. these speeds are very similar to what i get at work, but webpages appear to load slower i.e. images take a second or so, but are instant at work. Anything i can check ?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION