Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Line Capacity

    This is a discussion on Line Capacity within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; How comes Orange claim my line can handle 0.5MB but a sky worker has managed to check my line and ...

    1. #1
      spal's Avatar
      spal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Addiscombe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Line Capacity

      How comes Orange claim my line can handle 0.5MB but a sky worker has managed to check my line and says its very fast, 19.5MB

      Are Sky lying to me? not that it matters, im changign as soon as my Orange proplems are cleared


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No idea and to be honest until you are connected to whatever package you choose neither will you.

      But if Orange are saying that you must be miles from the exchange and if SkyBB are saying that you must live in it, take your pick
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Also ORANGE dont offer ADSL2+ Anyhow? So that must be "The Max" rate on DSLMax however that would mean you would probably only see like 4-5Mb on Sky!

      @Spal, Are you able to get into the LiveBoxs Config Page to obtain a Line Attenuation Figure?
      Last edited by Keiran2K8; 12-12-06 at 10:32 PM. Reason: Mistake Thanx @Wheelie!

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Also Sky don't offer ADSL2+ Anyhow
      I think you mean Orange.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Ye lol I mean Orange!

    7. #6
      spal's Avatar
      spal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Addiscombe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ADSL firmware version : A2pBT009.d16m-1
      Connection mode : G.DMT
      Type : Fast
      Noise margin (dB) : 32.6
      Attenuation (dB) : 9.0
      Attainable download rate (kbps) : 10304
      ADSL status : Connected [0]

      Downstream Upstream
      Rate (kbps) 608 288

    8. #7
      spal's Avatar
      spal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Addiscombe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i am on an 8MB package btw

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Attenuation (dB) : 9.0 , Wow you must live next door to the exchange!

    10. #9
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      spal

      sky only offer 16 meg [cant work out why theyed say u can get 19]

    11. #10
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      They offer upto 24mb (from what I was told) however because only a few lines support it they have capped it at 16mb!

      They (I think) will only offer faster speeds if your line is like top notch and can deffo take it!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION