Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Connection Between Router And Pc Problems?? Anyone Help

    This is a discussion on Connection Between Router And Pc Problems?? Anyone Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My first post so please be kind to me !! Really got a problem that developed , I believe , ...

    1. #1
      gel9369's Avatar
      gel9369 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: west wickham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Connection Between Router And Pc Problems?? Anyone Help

      My first post so please be kind to me !!

      Really got a problem that developed , I believe , sometime at the end of last week ..

      As usual tried to get Sky Technical onto it but currently with Tier 3 and they are struggling !

      Facts as follows…

      Tried to connect and just got blank screen .

      Tried the usual in terms of reboot , resetting pc etc but still no joy …

      After speaking to Sky several times the following has been established ….

      Router box is receiving signal from sky server and there is no problem with the signal getting to the box …downstream of 3100 ( total line capacity according to sam knows of 3 meg)

      Have run virus check etc and pretty sure nothing in my pc .

      On a couple of occasions I did mange to get text from the bbc website downloaded …appeared in a couple of seconds but interestingly no image or graphics downloaded and then after a few minutes 1 very small image downloaded and then it all seemed to freeze up …

      Now all I’m getting is messages to the effect that websites could not be found .

      I’ve been thru all the internet settings with sky and nothing there …also had a look into the router box menus and connection tests come back ok there .

      One possible I thought it might be is the Firewall settings on the router box ….interestingly the router is reporting that it is blocking all downstream as default , is this normal ? Sky seem to think so but I’m not so sure .

      The only other thing I thought is that my bandwith needs to be capped ? I’ve just asked to reduce this down to 2.5meg . Noise ratio looks fine at 8.2 downstream .

      Anyone else have any ideas , I’m only a novice and getting desparate now to get it back up and working !!

      Thanks

      Gareth


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      You're going to have to work through this logically.

      First thing - your router in default condition is set up OK re. firewall rules etc. In case you have accidentally changed something or it has got corrupted in some way you might consider resetting it using the pinhole on the back of the router (hold it in for several seconds until the lights change on the front). If that doesn't fix it go to the next step.

      Next you might try flushing your connection cache. To do this right click on the connection icon in your system try and select repair. If that doesn't fix it go to the next step.

      Lastly, temporarily turn off all software firewalls, antivirus, ad blockers or anything else you have on your system. If you now get a connection add them back in one by one to see what was at fault.

      If you still have problems, post back.

    4. #3
      gel9369's Avatar
      gel9369 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: west wickham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for this ...I've tried the first 2 without joy ...I'll try disabling the anti virus etc and see if that works ...

      Do you think it might not be to do with bandwidth ?

      thanks

      Gareth

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Not sure what you mean by bandwidth in this context.

      You say Sky have checked your connection out with you so presumably everything is as it should be. If so (and we may have to go through that again if you have the patience), then this points to a PC based issue e.g. a 3rd part application as mentioned earlier, a browser problem or a TCP/IP/DNS issue.

      Are you connecting wired or wirelessly?

    6. #5
      gel9369's Avatar
      gel9369 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: west wickham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wired via the ethernet cable

      What I meant by bandwidth was the downstream speed of 3100 ...if my line can only cope with 3000 could it not be trying to push too much down the line with the result that nothing comes thru ?

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      No, the exchange/router negotiation should handle that no problem.

      I assume that disabling all 3rd party applications hasn't improved things? I guess we can't rule out a Sky network problem at this stage but it looks far more likely to be a local problem.

      Can you start the process by listing your router stats? Thanks.

    8. #7
      gel9369's Avatar
      gel9369 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: west wickham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sorry , meant to explain - at work at the moment and sending replies from there . I'll have a go tonight disabling the 3rd party stuff and get the router stats .
      Will come Back to you tomorrow with hopefully some good news !

      Thanks for your help up till now .

      Another thing I considered was to do a system restore ? Do you think this is a good idea ?

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by gel9369 View Post
      Another thing I considered was to do a system restore ? Do you think this is a good idea ?
      I doubt it will be necessary - hold fire on that for the mo.

    10. #9
      gel9369's Avatar
      gel9369 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: west wickham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Will do ,

      Just one final thing before I give it a go tonight ….how will I know if I’ve turned off all 3rd party applications that might be affecting the connection …I know to turn off Mcafee , internet firewall etc but if there is something hidden away that I don’t know about how do I track that down . Is there any way of running a check ?

    11. #10
      gel9369's Avatar
      gel9369 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: west wickham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router stats as follows ….

      Port status TXPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time

      WAN PPPoA 17 6 0 8 2 00:01:46
      LAN 10M/100M 5566 1544 0 25 3 15:19:33
      WLAN 11M/54M 4432 2 0 13 0 15:19:23


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream

      Connection speed 3104kbps 768kbps

      Line Attenuation 57.0db 31.5db

      Noise Margin 8.1db 9.0db


      Let me know if you need any other stats as I printed off a whole raft last night !

      Just one other thing …last night I turned off all the 3rd party stuff I could find and didn’t seem to make any difference .

      I reset the router again and once more for a short period ..about 5- 10 mins I could get text to download from the bbc website and pics / images / graphics downloaded very very slowly and then all ground to a halt !
      Test intitally came up very quickly …within seconds …but images as I just said didn’t seem to want to download .

      Thanks

      Gareth

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION