Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
    Results 51 to 59 of 59

    Connection Problem - Please Help

    This is a discussion on Connection Problem - Please Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just out of curiosity mozbo, do you know your line stats?...

    1. #51
      balloon's Avatar
      balloon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Problem - Please Help

      Just out of curiosity mozbo, do you know your line stats?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection Problem - Please Help

      Unfortunately, Sky seem to be very limited in what they can do for Connect customers

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #53
      mozbo's Avatar
      mozbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01446
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Problem - Please Help

      Quote Originally Posted by balloon View Post
      Just out of curiosity mozbo, do you know your line stats?
      Hi Balloon,

      I've copied this from the router:

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address
      IP Address
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 82.108.0.75
      Domain Name Server 212.135.1.36 195.40.1.36

      LAN Port
      MAC Address
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP enable
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023c.d20e
      Modem Status Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 288
      UpStream Connection Speed 288
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID)
      Region Europe
      Current Channel 1
      Wireless AP enable
      Broadcast Name

      Does this help, if not, where do I get the line stats from?

      Cheers

      Mozbo
      Last edited by Saturday; 27-01-08 at 08:56 PM. Reason: Removed IP details etc

    5. #54
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection Problem - Please Help

      As you were told above you are on the wrong package and you must convince Sky that you are. Read through THIS thread, it is directly connected with your problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #55
      mozbo's Avatar
      mozbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01446
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Problem - Please Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      As you were told above you are on the wrong package and you must convince Sky that you are. Read through THIS thread, it is directly connected with your problem.
      Hi isitme,

      I've read the other posts already and as far as I can seem the posters haven't sorted their problems yet.

      I have telephoned sky more times than I can remember and the last twice I have tried to tell them that I might be on the wrong package. Needless to say I was met with a deafening silence and the foreign technical support who's grasp of English was none to good, just didn't know what I was talking about and tried to take me through the line testing process yet AGAIN!

      No good, I'm cancelling tomorrow, it's just not good enough and I can see from the numerous forums out there that I'm not alone on this.

      Cheers
      mozbo

    7. #56
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection Problem - Please Help

      Did you read Posts #60 and #61 in the link? Their issue, which is the same as yours, has been solved.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #57
      mozbo's Avatar
      mozbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01446
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Problem - Please Help

      Well, this is just confusing me all the more and to be honest, no paying customer should have to spend all this time sorting out problems on a service that they are paying for!

      What more can I do?

      The technical support say they don't know what I'm talking about when I say I may be on the wrong package and I'm just not prepared to spend any more time and money talking to an incompetent technical support team.

      I don't mind doing a bit of work to sort the problem, even though it's sky's responsibility, but I've gone beyond the call of duty on this one and I think a change of provider is the only choice.

      I've had broadband on different properties ever since it's been available and even had ISDN connection on a business premises and this is the first time I have encountered problems that the provider can't or won't resolve.

      Goodbye sky!

    9. #58
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connection Problem - Please Help

      you need CST on the line - tier 1 will be no help to you whatsoever as its not part of TS (this is BT screwing up here, not Sky)

      hopefully you get someone that's seen what's going on and will raise it to BT to get resolved...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #59
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection Problem - Please Help

      I have to agree with IAmNotTheEnemy, this ****-up is down to BT, apart from Sky's abysmal first line support, Sky have nothing to do with it. There are over a dozen cases of this reported on the forum and as I have said before, God knows how many cases there are across the country, which are not reported here.

      It is unfortunate you have decided to leave, no doubt this will make BT very happy, as it is one more they can add to the list of dissatisfied Sky customers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION