Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 59

    Connection Problem - Please Help

    This is a discussion on Connection Problem - Please Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Flashing your router isn't quite that straightforward. Are you sure you want to do this - you'll be breaking your ...

    1. #31
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Flashing your router isn't quite that straightforward.

      Are you sure you want to do this - you'll be breaking your Sky T&Cs and flashing carries a risk of ending up with a dead router?

      I'll send you a PM with some info to help if you decide to go ahead.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      pete146's Avatar
      pete146 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi

      Is flashing the router the same as upgrading the firmware? If there's a considerable risk then no I probably won't do it - I'll try to get a replacement router from sky first.

      Thanks

    4. #33
      bumbleb's Avatar
      bumbleb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: marine
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by pete146 View Post

      Don't know if it's any use, but these are the last few lines of the log, which should cover the disconnection:

      Sun, 2000-01-02 01:57:46 - UDP Packet - Source:219.95.238.155,20430 Destination:192.168.0.2,55571 - [DOS]
      Sun, 2000-01-02 01:57:56 - UDP Packet - Source:84.228.105.249,63516 Destination:192.168.0.2,55571 - [DOS]
      Sun, 2000-01-02 01:57:57 - UDP Packet - Source:81.198.173.150,24274 Destination:192.168.0.2,55571 - [DOS]
      Sun, 2000-01-02 01:57:58 - UDP Packet - Source:85.98.25.110,48593 Destination:192.168.0.2,55571 - [DOS]
      Sun, 2000-01-02 01:58:16 - UDP Packet - Source:84.247.62.207,9942 Destination:192.168.0.2,55571 - [DOS]
      Sun, 2000-01-02 01:58:31 - UDP Packet - Source:84.54.144.100,7921 Destination:192.168.0.2,55571 - [DOS]
      Sun, 2000-01-02 01:59:15 - UDP Packet - Source:89.78.127.49,19778 Destination:192.168.0.2,55571 - [DOS]
      Sun, 2000-01-02 01:59:16 - UDP Packet - Source:201.8.10.174,15581 Destination:192.168.0.2,55571 - [DOS]
      Sun, 2000-01-02 01:59:16 - UDP Packet - Source:87.126.120.13,15666 Destination:192.168.0.2,55571 - [DOS]
      Sun, 2000-01-02 01:59:45 - UDP Packet - Source:75.72.29.218,55096 Destination:192.168.0.2,55571 - [DOS]
      Sun, 2000-01-02 01:59:46 - UDP Packet - Source:88.107.237.61,28666 Destination:192.168.0.2,55571 - [DOS]

      Oh, & in the time it took to copy the logs, messenger has signed out!

      Thanks
      This is the sort of log i get when i do a firewall test ( port scan)

      Someone might know if the router gets probed dose it reboot itself
      Last edited by bumbleb; 04-01-07 at 11:22 AM.

    5. #34
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      @pete146

      Yes, flashing is replacing the firmware. It carries a risk - not huge, but a risk.

      I hope it is a router problem as this would be a straightforward fix but I have a nagging suspicion it might not be. Can you borrow another router from someone (doesn't have to be Sky), put in your extracted Sky user name and password and try it?

    6. #35
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      @bumbleb

      No the router won't reboot if it gets probed. That's what the firewall is there for - it just discards any uninvited packets.

      Curious though, looking at the log now you've prompted me. That rejected traffic was all directed at a specific non standard port (55571). Probably pete146 was running a P2P or torrent client sometime earlier set to that port, but if not it would be worth scanning the PC to ensure there are no nasties lurking there. Can't see that that's the cause of the problem he's experiencing though.
      Last edited by Saturday; 04-01-07 at 11:45 AM.

    7. #36
      pete146's Avatar
      pete146 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sorry, does that mean the fault may be being caused by me using UTorrent?

      Thanks

    8. #37
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Unlikely. Does it only happen when you use utorrent then?

    9. #38
      pete146's Avatar
      pete146 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Problem - Please Help

      No - checked last night by rebooting, then using mognut's to set noise margin target to 18 & not using any torrent/p2p programs. I thought I'd cured it as I got 6 hours unninterupted connection, but it had disconnected again by this morning. Guess I'll just have to wait & see what tier 3 have to say!

      Thanks

    10. #39
      pete146's Avatar
      pete146 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Problem - Please Help

      Oh and thanks for the PM Saturday. I'll give it ago if I don't get any joy from Sky.

    11. #40
      pete146's Avatar
      pete146 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Problem - Please Help

      Well I finally received my call from Tier 3 - they said that they have had to make some changes to my line as 'I appear to use my phone too much'!!!!! Well I probably have 3 x 10 minute calls per day! They didn't tell me what they have done but asked me to call back if I have any more problems.

      What they have done, surprise surprise, is cap my connection at 1 mbps!!! I knew that I was sometimes connecting faster than I expected, but even BT tell me I can expect 2.5mbps.

      Also, tier 3 support will not accept incoming calls! So I have been through all of the tier 1 diagnostics yet again! Is it just me, or is Sky's technical dept set up with the sole purpose of losing them customers???

      I have told tier 1 to re-escalate my call, and to re-cap my connection to 2.5mbps - I'll see how I get on with that before I let them drop it all the way down to 1mbps. Yet again, I have to wait a further 5 days for a response!

      They also appear to to turned UPNP back on so I have turned it off again - Am I right to do this?

      I seem to be turning into one of the many people who were delighted with the Sky offer, but have since been let down by their appauling 'process based' customer services.

      My stats now are:

      System Up Time 00:15:47
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1010 1109 0 357 1060 00:14:00
      LAN 10M/100M 4588 4777 0 2098 1010 00:15:45
      WLAN 11M/54M 83 0 0 26 0 00:15:35


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1024 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 24.2 db 14.0 db

      Although the attenuation is quite often 15.5 db & noise margin can drop to around 11 db.

      Thanks
      Pete

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION