Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Ethernet Cable V Wireless - which is best

    This is a discussion on Ethernet Cable V Wireless - which is best within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Does a cable connection work better than a wireless one? Thanks Allison...

    1. #1
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ethernet Cable V Wireless - which is best

      Hi
      Does a cable connection work better than a wireless one?
      Thanks
      Allison


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Amaboknaai's Avatar
      Amaboknaai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276 Camberley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Copped Hall
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It can be faster and is not prone to disconnections from the router. If you transfer large files across your LAN, then an Ethernet connection will be noticeably quicker. If it just for websurfing there "will" be no noticeable difference, and it is much more convenient. If you set up WPA encryption and MAC address filtering on your router, it will secure the connection from any outsiders trying to connect, too.

    4. #3
      Cyrus's Avatar
      Cyrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Streetly - CMSTRE
      Broadband ISP: Max, 15.3MB Downstream! B E A Utiful
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Streetly
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Using a CAT5 connection is far better. Data packets and cross data packets are far less likely to drop out. Much better for streaming HDTV etc.
      "If you are planning for a year, sow rice;
      if you are planning for a decade, plant trees;
      if you are planning for a lifetime, educate people."

    5. #4
      Shadow UK's Avatar
      Shadow UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newbury
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Why not use both have your laptop connected via ethernet when it is in the location you use the most and use the wireless when in another room or garden.
      This way you will have a connection with full capeabilities for downloading ect and you will have a very good connection for browsing all around your home.
      Dont forget to set wireless output to auto 108 setting this will help on connection dropouts and give you the full wireless connection speed.
      Good luck.
      I haven't failed, I've found 10,000 ways that don't work.

    6. #5
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hello Cyrus
      I'm trying to work out the easiest way to get my router connected to the master socket in the loft.... you are already helping on that situation... with the face plate etc.
      I was thinking I could put it in one of the bedrooms (rather than having to run the wire from the loft to the ground floor at the back of the house) and get a wireless adaptor.
      I take it you don't recommend this??
      Thanks for your help.
      Allisont

    7. #6
      gavinp's Avatar
      gavinp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stony Stratford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lightbulb

      It may be worth looking at Homeplug which uses the mains wiring to create a network:

      http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/defa...ShopGroupID=61

      http://www.solwise.co.uk/net-powerline.htm

      Thanks

      Gavin

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION