Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Noise Margin 5.5 - What are Sky going to adjust

    This is a discussion on Noise Margin 5.5 - What are Sky going to adjust within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi My connection keeps freezing with the sky error 300. Sky have advised that my noise margin is too low ...

    1. #1
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Noise Margin 5.5 - What are Sky going to adjust

      Hi
      My connection keeps freezing with the sky error 300.
      Sky have advised that my noise margin is too low and they are going to make some adjustments to my line... does this mean reducing the speed.
      I am currently on the Mid package.
      Thanks
      Allison


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It sounds as though they are going to cap your speed but as you have not posted any router stats hard to guess what they will cap it at, if you would care to post them someone may have a rough idea.

      How to get your router statistics
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi Wheelie
      (Couldn't work out how to copy and paste properly)
      Hope you can tell from this.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 27642 35925 0 738 7691 01:19:17
      LAN 10M/100M 23030 21819 0 5305 584 01:20:08
      WLAN 11M/54M 19075 12221 0 2596 361 01:19:58


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 17.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 14.0 db

      Thanks
      Allison

    5. #4
      jameseb's Avatar
      jameseb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanishan SWLNI
      Broadband ISP: Connect - but soon Max (4/1/06)
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      South Wales
      Posts
      174
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Your noise margin doesnt look to bad although its at the bottom of where it can cause problems (Apparently 6.9 and above should be ok) so maybe they have done the work...

      Also might be worth trying the master socket (Plug router into Test socket behind main master socket) to see if that up's your noise margin figures...
      Арте́льный горшо́к гу́ще кипи́т. (Moral: Working as a team produces better results!)

      имейте большое рождество и С Новым годом (have a great christmas and a happy new year )

      Dont ya just love russian proverbs!

      J-ames

    6. #5
      Cyrus's Avatar
      Cyrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Streetly - CMSTRE
      Broadband ISP: Max, 15.3MB Downstream! B E A Utiful
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Streetly
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Altering the stats of the speed can be done instanly by tier 3.

      PM me, I may able to offer you a magic number!
      "If you are planning for a year, sow rice;
      if you are planning for a decade, plant trees;
      if you are planning for a lifetime, educate people."

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Shiny new Master socket tutorial

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/index.php?page=mastersocket





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for all your replies.

      Unfortunately my master socket is in the loft so I can't leave my router plugged into it.

      When I had problems with my previous router I tried this and one of the stats did increase a lot... but I can't remember if it was the noise margin or the line attenuation! (wasn't able to test it as the router had lost its password/username and I had to have another router.)

      Sky says the noise level should be at around 10.

      Allison

    9. #8
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Perhaps a filtered face place fitted to the master socket then? This would enable you to filter out any internal noise from your wiring.

    10. #9
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is this easy to do... fool proof easy??
      Can you recommend one??
      Thanks
      Allison

    11. #10
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just to confirm that the new filtered faceplate would go in the loft even though the router is plugged in on an extension socket??
      Allison

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION