Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Noise Margin 5.5 - What are Sky going to adjust

    This is a discussion on Noise Margin 5.5 - What are Sky going to adjust within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If you have phones on that extension too then no, that's not ideal. In this case consider fitting a filtered ...

    1. #11
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      If you have phones on that extension too then no, that's not ideal. In this case consider fitting a filtered faceplate but buying a long RJ11 cable (the one that connects the router to the phone socket). You can get one up to 25m quite easily and it will cost less than 10 delivered.

      If you only run the router off one extension and have other extensions for phones then fitting a filtered faceplate with the router extension connected to the unfiltered part and the phones extensions fitted to the filtered part is good.

      Providing you have a reasonably new NTE5 master socket then fitting a new faceplate is a 5 minute DIY job costing about 15. Look in the cabling and faceplate forum for more info.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      would probably cap that at about 7mb then check for errors if it still had errors we would try changing the margins and rechecking. doesnt look to bad though.but it will drop a few db sometimes.

    4. #13
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks Saturday...
      So to confirm, I need to fit a filtered face plate in the loft and connect the router cable to this extension and run it through the loft into the office to connect to the router??

      Allison

      PS When doing this I am going to try to disconnect the ring main at the same time (I think this is normally orange and white) but do you know what connection number it is (in case my wires are the wrong way round).

    5. #14
      Cyrus's Avatar
      Cyrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Streetly - CMSTRE
      Broadband ISP: Max, 15.3MB Downstream! B E A Utiful
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Streetly
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I've just ordered one as well, we may as well have some fun trying to fit it!
      "If you are planning for a year, sow rice;
      if you are planning for a decade, plant trees;
      if you are planning for a lifetime, educate people."

    6. #15
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      @allisont

      In your situation the best thing would be to fit a replacement filtered faceplate and then either dedicate the entire extension run to your office for the router and make that unfiltered, or buy a long RJ11 and run it to your office.

      The former would probably be better but only if the extension only runs to your office. If it goes around the house to other phone points then that's not ideal. You can only check by physically following the wire or taking the current faceplate off and seeing how many extension wires are connected and then where they go. If you can't have a single extension wire dedicated to your router then a long RJ11 will be better. You'll get benefits from a new faceplate in either event.

      You mean the ring wire not the ring main.

      You shouldn't need to disconnect this with a filtered faceplate but some people say there's an additional improvement if you do. The ring wire is normally orange with white rings. It will be connected to terminal 3.

    7. #16
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Noise Margin

      Hi
      Thanks for your help and to let you know I have fitted the filtered face plate as recommended and disconnected the ring wire at the same time.
      I have run a RJ11 (telephone wire) cable directly from the master socket to the router.
      My noise margin has increased from 6 to 13.
      So hopefully I will now have a stable connection.
      Thanks again
      Allison

    8. #17
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Glad it worked for you Allison, sorry I did not manage to post back till now, but Saturday knows way more than me anyway

    9. #18
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can I now remove all the filters from the telephone extensions??
      Thanks
      Allison

    10. #19
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Yes, the replacement faceplate takes the place of all filters needed for phones etc.

      With a noise margin of 13db your connection stability should be excellent. Great that you've got this sorted

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION