Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    If you've migrated from AOL...beware...

    This is a discussion on If you've migrated from AOL...beware... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; What a long long 5 weeks of mayhem i've had! It started off back 5 weeks ago, my net died, ...

    1. #1
      Jmillinodead's Avatar
      Jmillinodead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      If you've migrated from AOL...beware...

      What a long long 5 weeks of mayhem i've had! It started off back 5 weeks ago, my net died, out of the blue. no idea why so for the first time i called technical support.. the first time they explained that my port status had gone down, and that it should return in 24hours. it didnt... so called again the next day in the evening, and this time i spoke to someone a lil more technical (tier 2 i believe?) ran through all the trouble shooting ideas as possible, totally confused the poor man.. but still no joy, suggested the dreaded call back from tier 3..

      3 days and still no call back, and calling tech support every day, and i finally get through to tier 3 (can't remember the girl who i spoke to but she had the most amazing voice, pleasure talking to her hehe). To both of our disbelief, it turns out that the day my internet died, AOL had marked the line, terminating my internet with sky, and taking back the service, all without my knowledge.

      to cut a long story short, it's taken AOL 3 weeks to cease the line, then another week and a bit to get BT to reconnect the internet.

      The only reason im posting this is that through my many calls to sky technical support, they've said that it's happened to a few other people, even tho i've had sky for over 2 months and terminated my AOL accout a long time ago, it's still happening.

      So if anyone's migrated from AOL recently.. do a lil check for me, set it up to how aol used to connect, and see if u can still log in.

      if you can...beware, you might lose your sky just like i did! give them a ring and shout down the phone asap!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      think someone may be telling slight porkies here.

      a line can only connect to one provider or to none

    4. #3
      NoXioUs's Avatar
      NoXioUs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bolton LOC
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Id have to disagree with that as i was on BT my migration went thru on 28th of nov Sky could do line tests down my line and i could still log into BT. It completely baffeled Sky and BT said id never migrated. canceled with BT and i some how synced with sky straight away just need to be authenticated with there system.

    5. #4
      Jmillinodead's Avatar
      Jmillinodead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by dingdong View Post
      think someone may be telling slight porkies here.

      a line can only connect to one provider or to none
      im fully aware of that, as sky told me many times..

    6. #5
      NoXioUs's Avatar
      NoXioUs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bolton LOC
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yer sky told me the same thing but it didnt work out like that. i could sync with my bt line but couldnt connect to sky when they said yes youve been migrated but the bt said id never had a migration put on my line. i canceled with bt and sure enough the sky box synced as soon as bt vacated the line.

    7. #6
      hgaule's Avatar
      hgaule is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackburn
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      ^ Thats strange that. My migration never happened but according to sky it did. One person at sky suggested I might just need to cancel my old isp before it would connect but I didn't think that was possible, and I was scared of having no internet at all if sky's connection didn't connect. I'm phoning them this evening anyway so i'll see what they say.

    8. #7
      NoXioUs's Avatar
      NoXioUs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bolton LOC
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      thats the same as when i phoned. canceled with bt and it snyced with sky just need to authenticate the router but i have to ring them to do that.

    9. #8
      hgaule's Avatar
      hgaule is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackburn
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Would have thought it would authenticate itself. Let me know how u get on.

    10. #9
      NoXioUs's Avatar
      NoXioUs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bolton LOC
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Will do, ringing them when i get home from work.

    11. #10
      spoony's Avatar
      spoony is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Did'nt have no problems migrating from AOL gave them a call for mac code was in email inbox the next day that was the last i heard from them except on call offering aol for cheaper

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION