Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Please, Please help a complete beginner!!!

    This is a discussion on Please, Please help a complete beginner!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Please Help! I used to be on an Orange 2mbps account using a USB Speedtouch modem & never had any ...

    1. #1
      pete146's Avatar
      pete146 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Please, Please help a complete beginner!!!

      Please Help!

      I used to be on an Orange 2mbps account using a USB Speedtouch modem & never had any connection issues. I have now moved my account to Sky Broadband Max & my account was activated on 21/11/06.

      My set up is: Microfilter plugged into the main phone point, 1 telephone connected to the microfilter & 1 phone extension lead running to my office & into my Sky broadband box. This is connected to my PC using the Ethernet cable.

      I have enabled ‘Local Area Connection’ in ‘Network Connections’ & when I boot up this connects straight away, it always show a status of 100mbps.

      After approx 2 minutes another section appears in Network Connections called ‘Internet gateway’ with an icon called ‘Internet Connection’ & the connection icon shows at the bottom right of my desktop – this does not give a connection speed. After a couple more minutes this generally disappears (but not always) & I then have access to web pages/emails etc. This all seems to be pretty random. Sometimes I don’t get any connection icons, sometimes the internet gateway section doesn’t appear etc.

      Once I am on the net, my connection works perfectly but suddenly web pages stop loading & outlook express doesn’t connect. Sometimes this happens 5 minutes after I start surfing, sometimes after several hours – it’s as though I’ve been disconnected but sometimes the connection icon is still visible.

      When this happens, if I disconnect the broadband box from the power for several seconds & reconnect it again I am reconnected again after about 5 minutes! This happens EVERY TIME I am on the internet & it is corrected every time if I disconnect & reconnect to the power supply.

      I have tried a full modem reboot through the setting web page & this did not cure it. I have tried using the test socket for my phone line & still had the same problems (but did get a faster connection speed). I have tried disconnecting my phone & just connecting my broadband & still had the same problem. I have also tried 3 different filters & they all do the same.

      I emailed Sky & they said that it takes 10 days for my connection to stabilise & I should contact them again after this time if I still have the same problems!

      Please, please does anybody have any suggestions? How can I stop this happening & leave my PC connected for long periods of time without having to turn off the power whenever my connection plays up?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi
      It wont take 10 days as a rule to stabilise as you are on Max and not Connect

      Go to your router pages and look for the UPnP option and turn it off

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-routerstats.html

      follow the instructions on that and copy and paste your stats on here, once you have followed those instructions to get the stats, you will see the UPnP option to disable. Try that and report back?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      skalpel's Avatar
      skalpel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Also, ditch the extension cable. Plug the router directly into your microfilter and run an ethernet cable to your office - you'll get better speeds and reliability for the same amount of cabling.

    5. #4
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      unplug and play isnt disabled on your router [opens the gateway]also run ethernet cable from router line to pc or go wireless

    6. #5
      pete146's Avatar
      pete146 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router Stats

      Hi

      Thanks for your help so far! I've disabled UPnP & will look at buying a longer ethernet cable.

      These are the router stats:


      System Up Time 00:17:56
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 603 760 0 280 505 00:16:23
      LAN 10M/100M 20210 24588 0 4347 4621 00:17:54
      WLAN 11M/54M 81 0 0 23 0 00:17:44


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2912 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 12.0 db

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Alternatively, if you'd rather have your router next to your PC, buy a long RJ11 cable (the one that connects the router to the phone socket). You can buy various lengths up to 25m very easily and the cost is likely to be <£10 delivered, next day.

      However, if it makes no difference where the router is then I'd go with a long ethernet cable as skalpel suggests, particularly if the cable run is anywhere near electric power cables as the ethernet configuration will cope with this better (keep at least a 5cm separation if you can).

      Your disconnections could be UPnP related though usually the disconnections will be regular (every 15min) rather than random. Random suggests a noise margin issue, so if turning off UPnP doesn't help then you need to consider this as a possible cause.

      You may find this helpful. It should give you an idea of what is going on and tell you what to do to solve it.
      Last edited by Saturday; 05-12-06 at 10:47 AM.

    8. #7
      RichP's Avatar
      RichP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Higher Bolton (LCHIG)
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by pete146 View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2912 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 12.0 db
      It could possibly be a noise issue. I set my parents up with Sky BB on a 60.0 dB attenuation line and the modem would sync at 2048 (base package), but sometimes had random disconnections. Getting the modem to sync at a lower speed solved the problem, and after that it stayed up for at least 11 days. You can try this to see if it helps - see the technical forum to find out how (sorry, don't think we can discuss it here!).

      But why Sky couldn't have used a router with seamless rate adaption that actually *works* I don't know, it would surely have saved them a lot of angry tech support calls.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION