Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Sky BB, still waiting (over 3 months)?

    This is a discussion on Sky BB, still waiting (over 3 months)? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Since registering for Sky Broadband on the 31 August 06, I am STILL waiting for it? Early October, Sky said ...

    1. #1
      Lionhart's Avatar
      Lionhart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beckenham Kent
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Beckenham Kent
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Sky BB, still waiting (over 3 months)?

      Since registering for Sky Broadband on the 31 August 06, I am STILL waiting for it? Early October, Sky said that there were equipment issues with my exchange (Beckenham, SE Greater London), and promised that I would get the broadband within a few weeks. I have already been charged 20 for the mid base package. I have sent Sky Broadband 2 letters, and have sent several emails ALL have been ignored. I have phoned the premium rate 08705 515515 number loads of times with no success. My present ISP is Orange/Wanadoo and I have already givien Sky the MAC code for the migration. I dont believe Im ever going to get it? PLEASE HELP, SOMEONE!
      Last edited by Lionhart; 03-12-06 at 02:04 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Have you tried ringing them for an update?

      Without speaking to them, its hard to say whether you would get it or not.

      Give them a ring on the freephone number and ask whats going on. Then report back in this thread (its yours now)




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Lionhart's Avatar
      Lionhart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beckenham Kent
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Beckenham Kent
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What is the freefone number, and what dept do I ask for? The 08705 515515 number just directs me to an automatic answer saying that Sky will contact me when the broadband is ready. Is 3 months wait a long time, or is this normal?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      0800 051 2595

      3 months without an update is a very long time.

      Give them a ring on the number above and keep us informed




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Lionhart's Avatar
      Lionhart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beckenham Kent
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Beckenham Kent
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just checked my exchange Beckenham - OLO Code: LSBEC. Enabled: Yes. Does this mean that Sky Broadband is ready? I have just phoned Sky and they tell me that the Sky Broadband was cancelled? They say that it was cancelled by BT? They NOW tell me that I have to get another MAC code from Orange/Wanadoo. I dont believe this!
      Last edited by Lionhart; 03-12-06 at 02:37 PM.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Easynet: Enabled

      Yes - theoretically you should be able to get Sky broadband, providing all the spaces so to speak have not been taken




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      Lionhart's Avatar
      Lionhart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beckenham Kent
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Beckenham Kent
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Any comment please on the fact that Sky said that BT has cancelled my Sky Broadband? I have just contacted Orange asking for another MAC code, and they said I would be charged 12 for another MAC code, as the last one was cancelled? It gets worse! WHAT NEXT!

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Orange seem to have adopted the 12 MAC fee after the first one has been used / cancelled. Their reason for this is to stop people asking for a MAC so as to bribe them into giving a discount on their products.

      People would ask for a MAC as a signal to Orange that they were not happy and then never use it.

      In your case the MAC was probably cancelled by BT because it could have been inputted wrongly by Sky, a thought not fact.

      Have you rang Sky? If they are saying that you need one, then I would call orange and explain to them, they may waive the fee.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      The group, which has 1m broadband customers, claims the 12 charge will only be imposed on customers who repeatedly request the code.

      The first application for a mac (migration authorisation code), will continue to be free. The new charge is targeted at those who receive a code but allow the 30-day usage period to elapse, then request a new one.
      Which explains Orange's stance on this




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      Lionhart's Avatar
      Lionhart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beckenham Kent
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Beckenham Kent
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I have contacted Orange/Wanadoo again. After explaining that it was NOT my fault that my migration was cancelled by BT. They will try and waiver the 12 charge. It seems likely that Sky Broadband was to blame for the error. WHY didnt Sky or BT contact me of this error? What with all the mistakes Sky made with sorting out my direct debit and now this, I have been BADLY let down by Sky. A NIGHTMARE!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION