Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Setting up my broadband...

    This is a discussion on Setting up my broadband... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My Broadband is going to be activated on the 4th of December. So today I thought I would have a ...

    1. #1
      Ste's Avatar
      Ste
      Ste is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aintree
      Broadband ISP: Orange (Max - 9th Dec - Hopefully!)
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Setting up my broadband...

      My Broadband is going to be activated on the 4th of December. So today I thought I would have a test run to make sure everything is okay for monday. I set up my router and everything works fine, but when I put the Sky BB cd in I cant go any further because I do not have windows 2000/xp I currently have Windows ME. Do you need the CD to get connected properly? Also how do you actually connect to sky BB? My therory is you type in the address to get to the router config page and then click connect at the bottom of that page? Please correct me if am wrong and any help would be much thankful
      - Ste
      Status: SKY BB MAX - 4th December!

      LOOK!
      File Hosting ;
      10Gb File Space
      50Gb Traffic

      Only at:
      http://chatbreeze.blingall.com/storage/


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jewkesy's Avatar
      jewkesy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fazeley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Tamworth
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      you don't really need the cd, all it does is make yor browser homepage the sky broadband page and pts some help files on your machine.

      All you need to do is ensure you are connected to your router and your IE connection settings don't try and use your old modem

      Your router will just work so don't worry about entering any details (you can't enter any other details anyway - but that's another story)

      Good luck!
      "Man who walk through airport door sideways is going to Bangkok..."


    4. #3
      Ste's Avatar
      Ste
      Ste is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aintree
      Broadband ISP: Orange (Max - 9th Dec - Hopefully!)
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks alot
      Status: SKY BB MAX - 4th December!

      LOOK!
      File Hosting ;
      10Gb File Space
      50Gb Traffic

      Only at:
      http://chatbreeze.blingall.com/storage/

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      There is nothing on the CD worth worrying about as for the connection just plug-in and go unless you want to change any of the setting like passwords etc.

      Can you please do something with your Sig its a little on the large size and very loud thanks.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      StevieBoy's Avatar
      StevieBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blimey Ray I think you are being very polite in your last request.Once I'd done a double take......

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Whys that Steve

      I am always polite even when I am not being so
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      StevieBoy's Avatar
      StevieBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I don't know about signature Ray I was referring more to jewksey's avatar!Or was that simply a tongue in cheek comment m8?

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ah I see never really noticed his avatar but
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION