Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Bad Impression of connect.

    This is a discussion on Bad Impression of connect. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My Connect was activated on the 26th, my router was sent to me a few days in advance so i ...

    1. #1
      AGrant's Avatar
      AGrant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bad Impression of connect.

      My Connect was activated on the 26th, my router was sent to me a few days in advance so i had that all set up waiting for the adsl to hit my line.

      From the very begining ive had various connection or speed drops ive had my my pc hooked up through the network cables and my mums hooked up through wireless.

      At one point my download speeds through utorrent was 350k down and 40k up which id be more than happy with but alas this lasted for all of 30 mins before it begin dropping again and ive never seen that performace since.

      Ive Tried various things suggested on the site Disabling UpNP disabling firewalls and move the router to the master phone socket but none of which have had any affect.

      Ive read a few posts talking about settling down periods, will these problems sort themselves out?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4288 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 db 24.5 db
      Noise Margin 5.8 db 22.0 db

      Any help you could offer would be appreciated im just hoping when i leave again in the next few months ive not left my parents with a duffer of a net connection.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      On a Connect package, it can take up to 14 days before your connection settles down, this is a characteristic of ADSL Max I am afraid.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      AGrant's Avatar
      AGrant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      thanks for the quick response ill just have to wait and see then.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      This is your thread now, keep us informed.

      On ADSL Max there is a BRAS profile, which basically maxes your line out to see what the most stable connection your line can support. this means that your connection will drop and resync often for 10 days or so.

      Mine went through and it was 3.2mb. I accepted this and then changed my master socket. It then went up to 6.4mb and I have never looked back.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      It might be a bit late, But see; MaxDSL?

      Have posted loads of info regarding MaxDSL and its 10Day Period!


      Also Welcome to SkyUser.co.uk

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site AGrant

      One thing you need to do is not turn the router off for the first 10 days if thats what you have been doing as you will have to start the whole process over again.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      AGrant's Avatar
      AGrant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ive been unplugging the router when theres been no net for like 20 mins, then reconnecting, would that affect it?

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Yes and no

      Go into your router and turn off the upnp and see if that helps

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-routerstats.html

      Will get you into the router, you should see the option once in there.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      AGrant's Avatar
      AGrant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I turned that off right at the begining. Im starting to think its more of a router problem now because if the net does go down its not like the begining where it would reconnect after a a miniute or so. No it wont go back up again till the routers reset or the adsl is unplugged, i can still get into the router page and it says that i have a dns and ip address, and if i do try to load up a web page it doesnt say right away that theres no net connection it just tries to load the page but nothing happens.
      Last edited by AGrant; 05-12-06 at 06:02 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION