Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Does this seem right

    This is a discussion on Does this seem right within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, just joined so sorry if this is in wrong place. Am on sky max package. been having probs ...

    1. #1
      nickc's Avatar
      nickc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: slow Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Does this seem right

      Hi all,

      just joined so sorry if this is in wrong place.

      Am on sky max package. been having probs with download speeds. have looked through forum over last few days and tried lots of things advised, tweeking, adsl socket etc.

      just got these stats of router.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.5 db 14.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.8 db 12.0 db

      sounds great but on speed tests am getting varying download speeds from about 2mb to 7.5mb

      checked with sky technical support. they reckon the line should be getting 11mb.

      Tried rebooting router. ok for a while then speed dropping right off.

      Have fairly limited knowledge but this doesn't seem right even to me.

      Any help greatly appreciated

      cheers

      nick


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi and Welcome to Skyuser

      I did some speed tests myself the highest I get is 4meg and the router syncs at 15 meg Sky say the speed tests are incorrect due to the amount of people that use it but I don't believe it.

      Ps as you are on base you router wont stay at 15meg it will get reduced, are you sure you're on base ?
      Last edited by Hornet; 01-12-06 at 10:51 PM.

    4. #3
      jewkesy's Avatar
      jewkesy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fazeley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Tamworth
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi,

      I have similar stats and been connected for about a week on the Max package.

      I've noticed that my download speeds average 2mb - 8mb but i found this is really dependant on the site.

      A good test is to try a Linux iso torrent as this will be a good benchmark. I was getting about 1.1Mb per second at it's peak and avg was about 750kbps.

      I haven't done any tweaks to my router or machine.

      Hope this helps!

      D
      "Man who walk through airport door sideways is going to Bangkok..."


    5. #4
      nickc's Avatar
      nickc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: slow Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Hornet View Post
      Hi and Welcome to Skyuser

      I did some speed tests myself the highest I get is 4meg and the router syncs at 15 meg Sky say the speed tests are incorrect due to the amount of people that use it but I don't believe it.

      Ps as you are on base you router wont stay at 15meg it will get reduced, are you sure you're on base ?

      thanks for the welcome and the quick reply. no i am on max package. was on virgin before and every thing seemed faster with an 8meg package.
      Have read a lot on here about have speed capped by sky to stabalise drop offs. do you think that may help

      nick

    6. #5
      prolink's Avatar
      prolink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SKY+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Quote Originally Posted by nickc View Post
      thanks for the welcome and the quick reply. no i am on max package.
      Hi Nick

      I think its your profile that confused people as it states your on the base package.
      Click HERE to edit your profile so it reads correct m8.

    7. #6
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      yup your probably getting alot of errors on the line and as such speeds are not what they should be, capping you at about10-12 will more than likely fix this issue.

      Contact ts and raise a ticket if not allready done so.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Quote Originally Posted by prolink View Post
      Hi Nick

      I think its your profile that confused people as it states your on the base package.
      Click HERE to edit your profile so it reads correct m8.

      Fixed for him




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      nickc's Avatar
      nickc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: slow Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Fixed for him
      Thanks for that, in my haste for help forgot to edit profile.

    10. #9
      nickc's Avatar
      nickc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: slow Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by theg33k View Post
      yup your probably getting alot of errors on the line and as such speeds are not what they should be, capping you at about10-12 will more than likely fix this issue.

      Contact ts and raise a ticket if not allready done so.

      Thanks,

      have been waiting for tier two to get back to me for about a week now.

      Think i better chase them up.

      thanks again for the advice.

      Great forum

      nick

    11. #10
      Restorer's Avatar
      Restorer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      362
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by theg33k View Post
      Contact ts and raise a ticket if not allready done so.
      How do you actually do this? Is there a special number for ts?
      And do you just say "I want to raise a ticket?"

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION