Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    what sorta speed should i be getting ?

    This is a discussion on what sorta speed should i be getting ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 7616 kbps 768 kbps Line Attenuation 34.0 db 21.5 db Noise Margin 4.0 db ...

    1. #1
      mrluke's Avatar
      mrluke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      what sorta speed should i be getting ?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.0 db 21.5 db
      Noise Margin 4.0 db 13.0 db


      i tought i might be gettin a tad more ? but hasnt budged apart frm the upload


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      Your attenuation should mean you get a higher DL, but your noise margin is very low.

      Have a search on the forum for advice on using the BT test socket and see if that helps.

      This is a good strarting point: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/index.php?page=mastersocket

    4. #3
      mrluke's Avatar
      mrluke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky actually said i could only get 4mb which si quite funny

      do u recon a low noise may be coz it a brand new phone line ? only had it installed a few weeks back becoz it was a brand new house

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      The NM drops from about 6pm.

      Sky said I would get 3Mb max, but I can get up to 9Mb.

      Using the test socket increased mine from 3Mb to 9Mb.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION