Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Unacceptable MAC?

    This is a discussion on Unacceptable MAC? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Plusnet have given me a mac code that begins with LYMY and sky are telling me they cannot accept it. ...

    1. #1
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unacceptable MAC?

      Plusnet have given me a mac code that begins with LYMY and sky are telling me they cannot accept it. So what do i do?
      Cheers
      Connected @ 13mbit on SkyMAX


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      As far as I know Mac Codes usually begin with BBIP, FTIP, BBDS or BBDP

      So thats probably why you are having problems
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      plusnet are telling me that this is a new type of mac code though, and is the only one they can give out?
      Last edited by Wheelie; 30-11-06 at 11:16 AM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User
      Connected @ 13mbit on SkyMAX

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Its quite possible I guess the only way to know for sure is call ofcom

      020 7981 3040
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      just phoned them they say that the problem is on skys behalf.
      I have also phone bt wholesale and they have just informed me that im on plusnet's LLU, which i never knew about, does this mean that im going to have to cease?
      Cheers
      Connected @ 13mbit on SkyMAX

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sorry but if your on LLU with them then yep you need to cease and then reproved, that could all be changing soon though as ofcom are going to announcing some changes to the way ISP give and handle MAC's soon so it may be worth waiting until that happens.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Im not on LLU apparently that is just the way that all mac codes are now im told!
      Connected @ 13mbit on SkyMAX

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have also phone BT wholesale and they have just informed me that im on plusnet's LLU
      Now I am confused if your on MAX Adsl then call SkyBB again and tell them what you have just been told by ofcom and ask to speak to a manager if they refuse to take it.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Called sky again and they said the order has gone through fine :S
      Thanks for all the help guys, looks like i should b eon sky in 15 days
      Connected @ 13mbit on SkyMAX

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Great news and good luck
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION