Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Is it worth upgrading from base to max?

    This is a discussion on Is it worth upgrading from base to max? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi friends, I have connected to Sky BB today and have finally got the wireless network working, thanks to the ...

    1. #1
      happymonkey's Avatar
      happymonkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: anfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is it worth upgrading from base to max?

      Hi friends,

      I have connected to Sky BB today and have finally got the wireless network working, thanks to the help on these forums. I only signed up to the base package as BT told me my line would only sustain about 256k. I have yet to cancel my Telewest internet subsciption because of this. I was quite surprised today to see that my connection with Sky was about 2meg.

      The question I have is this. Is it worth upgrading to the max service and would my line be capable of sustaining good speeds. Can any of you clever guys tell by my router stats if it would be possible?


      System Up Time 00:32:05
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1372 1528 0 193 459 00:29:37
      LAN 10M/100M 673 563 0 147 37 00:32:03
      WLAN 11M/54M 3270 15604 0 1049 508 00:24:30


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 18.0 db
      Noise Margin 32.4 db 14.0 db

      If so I will cancel my TW subsciption and save myself 15 a month.

      Any help would be appreciated.

      Tony H


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi btw,
      Checked for your line attenuation of 27.0db and you should get 12 - 16 meg.

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Tony

      Looking at your stats you should get very good speed on MAX but its never easy to tell until it happens.

      Here my stats for SkyBB MAX

      System Up Time 916:02:03
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 70726877 90123425 0 704 799 916:00:41
      LAN 10M/100M 77253337 57866542 0 448 193 916:02:01
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 13178560 12995765 0 844 966 916:01:51


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.0 db 13.6 db
      Noise Margin 9.3 db 12.0 db
      Last edited by Wheelie; 29-11-06 at 08:57 PM.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      and heres mine jsut to get some ideas.

      System Up Time 00:42:00
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3605 5349 0 302 2136 00:41:25
      LAN 10M/100M 5841 4017 0 2245 352 00:41:58
      WLAN 11M/54M 80 9 0 10 0 00:41:48

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15144 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 11.0 db

    6. #5
      happymonkey's Avatar
      happymonkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: anfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for the quick replies guys. What I don't understand is BT telling me my line quality wasn't very good and the likely 250k speed. This is what Sky told me also when I first enquired. Why would they say that? BT told me they had checked with BT wholesale and this confirmed their stats.

      I think I will call Sky tomorrow to check again.

      Thanks again.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Call them tonight on the freephone number why wait till tomorrow?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      happymonkey's Avatar
      happymonkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: anfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Oh, BTW

      Looking at both your stats I see the much lower noise margins than mine. Would this affect anything? Sorry for all the questions. I've been with Telewest too long.

    9. #8
      happymonkey's Avatar
      happymonkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: anfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Call them tonight on the freephone number why wait till tomorrow?
      On the phone as we speak.

    10. #9
      happymonkey's Avatar
      happymonkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: anfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I spoke to Sky last night and they reckon my line is capable of 8meg. I asked them if they would refund the 40 activation fee if I upgraded to max and after a bit of umming and arring they agreed. I hope it works.

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well thats good news

      Maybe they don't have the capacity in the exchange to give you the MAX package at the moment so if your 8MB is stable in the new year I would try for the MAX package

      Good luck.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 30-11-06 at 11:19 AM.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION