Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Almost as slow as dial-up!

    This is a discussion on Almost as slow as dial-up! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just been connected to Sky broadband today (max package) and so far not at all happy Now I know that ...

    1. #1
      pau1777's Avatar
      pau1777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton in Makerfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Almost as slow as dial-up!

      Just been connected to Sky broadband today (max package) and so far not at all happy
      Now I know that I live quite far away from the exchange and I can only get 512k, as I have had freedom2surf 512k package for the past 2 years which always connected at 576k.
      Plugged in my sky router green light went on and ready to go so I thought. Here are the connection stats

      DownStream Connection Speed 160 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 416 kbps (this is much better than f2s!! but not really what I want!)

      Line Attenuation - downstream 63.5 Upstream 31.5
      Noise Margin - Downstream 6.0 Upstream 12.0


      My uploading speed is twice as fast but my downloading speed has gone from 58k/sec to about 6k/sec.
      I have phoned sky and they will get back to me within 48 hours
      My router is connected to the master socket.
      Any advice?
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Not really Paul but it does sound like a problem that some people were having on here a while ago where by the line was being handed over by BT capped at a real low speed and it needed tier3 to do something to fix it.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      pau1777's Avatar
      pau1777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton in Makerfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How long does that usually take?
      With my line stats what sort of speed should I expect to get?
      Thanks in advance
      Paul

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      An attenuation of 63db gives you a potential downstream connection speed of ~2500kbps - a bit over 2meg

    6. #5
      pau1777's Avatar
      pau1777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton in Makerfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Now that would be nice!!!
      I have just done another check on the BT checker and it says only 512k.
      But then even 512k would be nice right now.
      Noise margin is now downstream 6.8 upstream still 12.0
      Last edited by Wheelie; 29-11-06 at 07:13 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    7. #6
      pixt's Avatar
      pixt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Derby
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      System Up Time 00:05:43
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 4 4 0 0 0 00:01:48
      LAN 10M/100M 1478 1240 0 2168 497 00:05:41
      WLAN 11M/54M 401 137 0 250 58 00:05:32


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9987 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38.0 db 21.4 db
      Noise Margin 8.5 db 12.0 db

      Is this good or bad for a max user? I dont understand these technical terms.....sorry

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      @ Paul 1777

      I think you can be fairly confident that if you get your connection as clean as possible and Sky sort out your current problem then around 2meg should certainly be achievable.

      Have a look at this thread for some background:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=5969

      Also try your test socket and see if the noise margin increases. If it does then you'd benefit from better filtering on your connection.

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by pau1777 View Post
      Now that would be nice!!!
      I have just done another check on the BT checker and it says only 512k.
      But then even 512k would be nice right now.
      Noise margin is now downstream 6.8 upstream still 12.0

      Don't believe the BT checker its only for the BT system not LLU as for how long for tier3 no idea sorry try calling SkyBB Tech Support again and ask them.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      @pixt

      It's OK - you might be able to do better.

      Read this for background:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=5969

      By illustration, my attenuation is the same as yours and I can comfortably connect at ~12750kbps with a good noise margin.

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @pixt

      Not bad but as Saturday has said could be improved on

      Good luck
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION