Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Almost as slow as dial-up!

    This is a discussion on Almost as slow as dial-up! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; @Saturday. Do you think a BT faceplate would be useful? I run my router directly through the main socket with ...

    1. #11
      pau1777's Avatar
      pau1777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton in Makerfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      @Saturday.
      Do you think a BT faceplate would be useful?
      I run my router directly through the main socket with a filter for my phone line (using a wireless connection)
      I did ask my previous provider, freedom2surf, to see if a faceplate would improve my speed and they said there was no point as all I could get would be 512k.


      Here is the info on my line
      BT ADSL broadband availability
      You are connected to the Ashton In Makerfield telephone exchange.

      ADSL is available in your area
      Your exchange is also enabled for ADSL Max services

      According to BT Wholesale, your line should be able to support a 0.5Mbps or greater ADSL connection.

      Standard ADSL RAG results:
      You cannot receive 2Mbps ADSL
      You cannot receive 1Mbps ADSL
      You can receive 512Kbps ADSL
      You can receive 256Kbps ADSL

      You are approximately 4.39km from the exchange (straight line distance).

      There appears to a compatibility issue with your phone line. This could be caused by an existing DSL connection, ISDN, a DACS unit, TPON, a pending ADSL order or many other common issues. This will need to be resolved before ADSL can be supplied to your line.

      Your BT ADSL code is: REGEGEC.
      Thanks again for any help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      pixt's Avatar
      pixt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Derby
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I am apparently only 952meters away from my exchange..so shouldn't that make my connection better....for ref purposes my exchange is ILKESTON in derbyshire.

      I am definatley a blonde when it comes to technology!

    4. #13
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by pau1777 View Post
      @Saturday.
      Do you think a BT faceplate would be useful?
      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      @ Paul 1777

      Also try your test socket and see if the noise margin increases. If it does then you'd benefit from better filtering on your connection.
      Answered in previous post

      I think you mean a filtered faceplate? BT can supply and fit these (~65) or you can do it yourself for <15 in 5 minutes.

      Try your test socket and then you'll see if it is worth doing.

    5. #14
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      @pixt

      How far you are away from the exchange is only an indicator - your line may be much longer than that. The link I gave you explains what factors really matter.

      Your attenuation is primarily what determines your connection speed. As I said before, you have a potential of ~13000kbps.

      You're currently connecting at ~10000kbps. Unless you have a thirst for speed then that's probably good enough?

    6. #15
      pau1777's Avatar
      pau1777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton in Makerfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Insted of getting better my speed has now gone down to 128kb/s.
      Upload speeds have stayed the same.
      Sky have not yet got back to me. Not a good start

    7. #16
      gavinp's Avatar
      gavinp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stony Stratford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      These are my stats which sound similar to yours:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2464 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.0 db 14.0 db

      My download speed is about 2.2Mbps but the upload is nowhere near 768Kbps - averages around 235Kbps.

      Thanks

      Gavin

    8. #17
      pau1777's Avatar
      pau1777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton in Makerfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How long did it take for you to get that m8?
      My upload speed seems to have increased to 576k/sec but download is 128k/sec so in reality same as ISDN.
      I tried to download latest Nero and goy 6.2k/sec.
      This is just silly.
      Still 63.5 dowstream and 31.5 upstream.

    9. #18
      pau1777's Avatar
      pau1777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton in Makerfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just phoned sky again and the very nice lady said that Tier3????? were dealing with this problem and they can take upto 5 working days just to get back to me.
      Nothimg is ever easy.

    10. #19
      pau1777's Avatar
      pau1777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton in Makerfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just got home now and checked my connection. My download spped has increased to 608kbps and my upload has stayed at 576

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 608 kbps 576 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 7.0 db


      Things are getting better but shouldn't be getting much more than this???

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION