Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Should I?

    This is a discussion on Should I? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok, so I'm getting really fed up with beetee now. Paying 26.99 for a 1MB connection (I'm ~3km from exchange). ...

    1. #1
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Should I?

      Ok, so I'm getting really fed up with beetee now. Paying 26.99 for a 1MB connection (I'm ~3km from exchange). I recently asked for a HomeHub and they also regraded my speed to 512mb fixed!! So next call I'll be asking for a MAC!

      Anyway, I know unless I get 'cabled' (which I think I'm still out of area) I'll always get a low ADSL speed due to line length.

      I checked on sky speed checker and it says I can only get 256kbps!

      I know my line will support 1152kbps fixed as I used to have that with BT before they screwed it. Is there any hope with sky?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Yes and no I suppose

      Sky normally would give you the best speed that your line can give you, maybe a bit like ping pong getting there, but you would be saving money per month




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have just looked at samkonws and you have Easynet on your exchange so I would go for it you will probably find you will get better speed but if you want a rough idea of how fast on the MAX package there is a link in my Sig that will give you an idea.

      Good luck in what ever you decide
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks, I just tried the links and for my current values they give speeds between 2-3Mb

    6. #5
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Do I still need to request an order number email from sky, or just go ahead and sign up online when I get my MAC?

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      NP

      There is no guarantee that you will get that kind of speed mind as its only an estimate but I would think you will get a faster one than you have with BT at the moment.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sign-up Online when you get your MAC or phone them your choice.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #8
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks,

      When do I tell BT to cancel? AFter I get an activation date from Sky?

    10. #9
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You dont tell them to cancell thats what the MAC Code is for just give that to SkyBB but keep an eye on the BT Checker to see what thats says once you ask sky to migrate you?
      Order tracking: Landline orders You will need to register if you don't already have an account.

      Once you are on SkyBB call them tomake sure they know you have migrated just in case they try to bill you.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    11. #10
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Damn apparently I did something to my broadband in Feb so I'm still in contract until nxt feb!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION