Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Should I?

    This is a discussion on Should I? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Oh dear no so good but one good thing is Feb is only a couple of months away...

    1. #11
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Oh dear no so good but one good thing is Feb is only a couple of months away
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      yeah!

      strange thing, I just spoke to my neighbour next door to me and he's getting 8MB from bulldog - says he moved from BT coz they couldn't offer him a better speed.

    4. #13
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      however, no I haven't checked his router stats.

    5. #14
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I take it your neighbour is on LLU and if thats the case then yes it would be faster.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #15
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ah, just found a link in another post for the prodigy site, my number get this:

      ADSL Line check

      Telephone number : 01707XXXXXX
      BT exchange : WELWYN GARDEN
      Real time check : Yes
      BT line checker version : 10.2

      Line speed capabilities

      Rate adaptive (250k and 500k) : Amber
      Fixed Rate (1000k and 2000k) : Red
      MAX speed (upto 8000k) : Green (250 kbps)

      250k and 500k ADSL is available on this line, but the line is very long which may require an engineering visit to get ADSL working. 1000k and above is not available.


      So this is why I get a naff ADSL downstream with BT IPSTREAM but possibly higher with LLU?

    7. #16
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I just checkedon the sky site, the avilability checker and says I can only get 256k! Also checked the easynet site and says:

      Information entered:

      Name: x
      Company: x
      Telephone Number: 01707xxxxxx ADSL already enabled on this line
      Postcode: xxx xxx Valid Postcode

      Exchange information:

      Easynet LLU ADSL Status: ENABLED
      Easynet ADSL Status: ENABLED

      Predicted service availability:

      Easynet ADSL: 256kb Must cancel exisiting DSL first

      Easynet LLU ADSL: 256kb Probably rate-adaptive ADSL
      Easynet LLU SDSL: UNAVAILABLE Too far from the exchange
      SMPF Status: 256kb Probably rate-adaptive ADSL

      Easynet SureStream: UNAVAILABLE Too far from the exchange


      Am I really stuffed until ntl installs near me?

      Also after checking my number on the bulldog site, they called me (I expected it) but they said they could only offer me 512k as 'BT had some something with my line'. WTH does this mean?
      Last edited by austinjreid; 08-12-06 at 10:52 AM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION