Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Wires or not?

    This is a discussion on Wires or not? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just thinking about getting Sky broadband-this great site is just what I need to help. a) I'm a subscriber to ...

    1. #1
      conkerer's Avatar
      conkerer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wires or not?

      Just thinking about getting Sky broadband-this great site is just what I need to help.
      a) I'm a subscriber to Sky tv.
      b) I've currently got ntl broadband in my shed.
      c) In the house I've got a BT phone.
      d) I want to keep my main pc in the shed and use a wireless laptop in the house.
      Am I right in thinking that I need to connect the router to the BT socket and have an ethernet cable from the router permanantly connected to the pc? So that I must be connected by wire to at least one computer and thereafter wirelessly to others?
      Thanks, Conkerer


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      a) Brilliant!
      b)In a Shed wonder what you get upto?!
      c)Thats what you need!
      d) No, The ROUTER needs to be connected to the BT LINE!, Also NO! you dont need an ethernet cable in!

      You could use an EXTENSION CABLE?

      Also, Welcome to Skyuser.co.uk

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site conkerer

      As Fiber said all good but if you are going to have the PC in the shed then I would do 2 things I would leave the router in the house and go buy one of these HomePlug Networking

      Good luck
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      @Fibreoptic-
      From my experience in T-2,Sky BBand does not like extension leads from the master socket one little bit!!!
      You'd be suprised just how many faults we fix by removing that component!

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Most if not all ISP's and routers dont like them.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Sky especially dont like em!

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I so however like these HomePlugs so does my son his Online gaming flies
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION