Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 42

    Strange sync

    This is a discussion on Strange sync within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yeah @Sambuka, Because you are capped! lol I wonder why they have Tier1? They could save some money if they ...

    1. #21
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Yeah @Sambuka, Because you are capped! lol

      I wonder why they have Tier1? They could save some money if they installed a machien which takes your details and gets tier3 to call you back!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      IF you were already awaiting a call back from Tier 3 it is very likely they have capped you. Several people have had this happen, without being called.

    4. #23
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      If you mail the tech support address you get a response far quicker than waiting for a T3 call back.

    5. #24
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      @Hugsie! Same here they never told us nutting! Until we had "Words" with the Tier1 Agent about it lol!

    6. #25
      sambuka's Avatar
      sambuka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Dewsbury
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      @reddwarfcrew WHAT IS THIS ADDRESS?

      I said to the man it just seems like an easy way out for you, and that if this isnt fixed within 48 hrs then i will not be paying. heres me hoping

    7. #26
      sambuka's Avatar
      sambuka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Dewsbury
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by hugsie View Post
      IF you were already awaiting a call back from Tier 3 it is very likely they have capped you. Several people have had this happen, without being called.
      Thanks hugsie, seems the logical explanation to all of this, cant wait to bring hell onto those tier 3 ppl.

    8. #27
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      My email has stated that if the cap remains, they must move me to MID package, especially as my UL is now only around 350 although it sync at 768.

      Tech Support email is:

      BroadbandTechnicalSupport@BSkyB.com

      Customer Service is:

      BroadbandCustomerService@BSkyB.com

      Skys normal CS dept is:

      CustomerZone@BskyB.com

    9. #28
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      PS - every time I have mailed Tech Supp, I have got an answer within 24hrs and a full answer as well as opposed to some fobb off standard repsonse.

    10. #29
      sambuka's Avatar
      sambuka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Dewsbury
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cheers reddwarfcrew ive sent a email to them so hopefully will get a reply soon.

    11. #30
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      This was my reply from Tech Supp:

      I ran a couple of line tests during the course of today (30/11) all of which came back showing a download speed of 8096kbps and an upload speed of 768kbps. There could be many reasons for your upload speed to slow during the course of your time online. Firstly if you are using peer to peer sites such as Limewire, secondly if your line is having errors and lastly if you are using any source other than our router for the information these sources can be extremely unreliable and go by the page you are on at any given time rather than the actual line speeds.



      To gauge your line speed using your router you can do the following:



      Type in 192.168.0.1 to your browser bar and hit 'Go'
      Type in the user name- admin and the password- sky.
      Scroll down to the section marked 'Modem'
      You will see upstream and downstream figures here.


      Having also checked with your ticket number I can see that you spoke to my colleagues on the 23/11/06 at 11.25am and agreed with them that the cap was to be removed. I can confirm that this has taken place and no cap has ever been put back in place. The note on the ticket states that after 8.8Mbps your line was getting excessive line errors. As such I would suggest that your router has found the fastest speed it can work on without disconnections rather than a cap being the limiting factor.



      With your user name and password you may wish to follow this process to change your password:





      Go to the sky.com website.
      Select 'MY SKY' and enter original log in details.
      Go to section marked 'EDIT LOG IN DETAILS'
      Change password to one that is at least 7 characters in length, starts with a capital letter and has 1 number in it. (e.g. Phantom7)
      Confirm Password.
      Select 'SUBMIT'
      Exit the Sky website, and go into Outlook
      Go to Tools > Email Accounts >Change Existing Account details
      After entering the POP and SMTP settings (if not already set), you will be asked for a user name and password.
      The User name is your email address without the @sky.com e.g. j.bloggs@sky.com becomes just j.bloggs
      Enter the new password that has been created at the Sky website.



      I trust this information has been of assistance to you. Should you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

      ===============================

      My UL speed is now back to normal.

      My Router still will only synch at 8096 max even if i use the URL injection method to target the Noise Margin to 3db (ie it still syncs with a NM of 9db)

      The change to the password for the email as suggested has made no difference.

      Oh well, back to the drawing board.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION