Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 34

    Signed up to MAX in Kenton

    This is a discussion on Signed up to MAX in Kenton within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I signed up to MAX yesterday. Went through the order process - Made sure she took down my mac code ...

    1. #1
      DeeGame's Avatar
      DeeGame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsbury, London NW9
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Signed up to MAX in Kenton

      I signed up to MAX yesterday. Went through the order process - Made sure she took down my mac code in uppercase as i heard about orders not being processed because they entered the mac codes in lowercase.

      But was disappointed when she told me the maximum speed i will get in my area is 5.5mb - something to do with my local exchange i think

      But i am reasonably happy as i was paying double what i will be paying sky for half the speed.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      im on the same exchange.

      the line speed is only an estimation, on bt max i was told i could only get 4mb but i get 8mb. sky told me i could only get 5mb, probably be more likely to 10mb.

      that is with using my master phone socket. previously i was using another socket and checking with the line stats i wouldnt have even been able to recieve 3mb. (low snr)

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well lets hope everyone gets better speed than they been told they will get one thing is for sure your upload speed will definitely be higher
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      DeeGame's Avatar
      DeeGame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsbury, London NW9
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Dont really care about my upload speed
      Last edited by Wheelie; 25-08-06 at 12:38 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User Name this helps us to keep the forum tidy and posts more compact. Thanks

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ah ok some people do some don't I for one do

      Good luck anyway
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      DeeGame's Avatar
      DeeGame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsbury, London NW9
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i just got my modem delivered, but have not got my activation date.

      Should i wait till i get my activation letter before canceling my current isp?

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Now you have the router it should only be a few days before you get a letter with the activation date as for cancelling your current isp no need to do that thats what the MAC Key is for but once you have been move to SkyBB then it would be a good idea to call them and inform them that you have now been migrated out.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #8
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      as for cancelling your current isp no need to do that thats what the MAC Key is for .
      I hope that's not correct. As far as I understand MAC keys are only valid for 30 days. That length of time is nearly up as I ordered Sky about 4th August and so far seem no nearer getting it than at the start. Yet another "problem with the line" although I have broadband with PlusNet already. Have had phone calls, email, phoned them. Different answers but still no router delivered.
      Does it mean that after 30 days from the request I won't have any broadband at all and Sky won't be able to do the transfer either?

      hgm

    10. #9
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You are correct they are only valid for 30 days and once you have an activation date then there should be no problem as the MAC would have been supplied to BT.

      Nope once the 30 days is up your connection will just carry on as normal and you will have to ask Plusnet for a new one and the whole 30 days starts all over again.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    11. #10
      DeeGame's Avatar
      DeeGame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsbury, London NW9
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i get activated on the 5th sept

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION