Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Why has my speed gone down?

    This is a discussion on Why has my speed gone down? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Dear all Newbie here. Up to a couple of weeks ago my Max connection speed was between 10 and 14Mbps, ...

    1. #1
      |Raziel_uk's Avatar
      |Raziel_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question

      Dear all

      Newbie here.

      Up to a couple of weeks ago my Max connection speed was between 10 and 14Mbps, while occasionally hitting 16Mbps.

      Since then, however, it's dropped to approximately 6Mbps.

      Any ideas why there has been this sudden change?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi

      I just answered on adslg

      There seems to be an issue at the moment with profiles,all we can ascertain:

      1) if your line is not stable, the speeds are capped

      2) More people on your exchange since you signed up and they have capped

      Has your upload speed dropped to 416 instead of 768?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      leffe's Avatar
      leffe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Hi

      I just answered on adslg

      AKA Soundsystem
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 25-11-06 at 12:15 AM. Reason: fixed your tags

    5. #4
      |Raziel_uk's Avatar
      |Raziel_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Oops, sorry. I posted the message on ADSL earlier this evening and checked it just before coming here and registering etc.

      The results of my speed test at ADSL is at http://www.adslguide.org.uk/tools/sp...04215927430542

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      no probs, thanks for joining us, the beauty of our site, is we are predominately Sky orientated and problems seem to be reported here quicker.

      There are a load of issues at the moment but not a lot of answers




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Quote Originally Posted by leffe View Post
      AKA Soundsystem
      ahhh sussed!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      |Raziel_uk's Avatar
      |Raziel_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      It's not a major problem, after all 6Mbps is still very fast, but I did like the boasting factor!!

      Come to think about it, I did get a letter from Sky but it just said they had made "improvements". See if I can find it... [Watch this space]

      Yes, here it is. "After reviewing our systems, we have made some updates to the network which should have improved your connection to our network."

      Erm... it hasn't. I was happy with it the way it was, can they remove these "improvements"?
      Last edited by |Raziel_uk; 25-11-06 at 12:22 AM.

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      have moved your posts so we dont hijack the other one




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I think at the moment they are trying to stabilise the networks, it would appear that they have capped a fair few people.

      The only thing I can suggest is that you ring them on the freephone number and try to speak to tier 3 to find out why.

      0800 051 2595 - they are open til 12am I think

      Keep us up to date




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      |Raziel_uk's Avatar
      |Raziel_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Isn't it wrong to severely cap someone who, after all, is paying for the Max package without letting them know in advance?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION