Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    DNS issue

    This is a discussion on DNS issue within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Basically, from around 7pm onwards i cant use browser i.e connect to websites via the the name of the ...

    1. #1
      lomaxgr's Avatar
      lomaxgr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broomhill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DNS issue

      Hi

      Basically, from around 7pm onwards i cant use browser i.e connect to websites via the the name of the site rather than the ip. In other words if i type www.bbc.co.uk into my browser it wont connect, but if i type the ip (say 217.142.134 for example) it works. However i cant browse the site because it just goes back to www.bbc.co.uk/sport for example. Ive been told off a friend that this is a dns issue, but ive no idea Any help?

      Thanks

      George.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sorry George

      They both work fine for me so no idea why you are having problems with them
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Yeah! works here aswell?

    5. #4
      jjwf's Avatar
      jjwf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Working fine here as well.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      @lomaxgr

      Just checking - is this every night around 7:00 or just tonight?

    7. #6
      lomaxgr's Avatar
      lomaxgr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broomhill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Been doing it for 3 nights now

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      OK - well it could be noise.

      First thing is to check your router stats when you get this problem. The Sky router starts to misbehave if/when the noise margin drops below ~6.2db.

      Noise varies through the day but most people find it gets steadily worse from about 6pm to 10pm then begins to recover through the night. This same cycle is repeated day after day. Rising noise is seen as dropping noise margin in the router.

      Let's see if your router noise margin dropping is coincident with your connection dropping out. If it is then this (normally) can be fixed fairly easily.

      You might find this post here of interest as background reading to this issue. It will also tell you how to get your router stats if you haven't discovered that already.

    9. #8
      gavinp's Avatar
      gavinp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stony Stratford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Bear in mind that Windows 2000/XP caches DNS records for 24 hours which might explain the timing...

      http://vlaurie.com/computers2/Articles/dnscache.htm

      Try adding the Sky DNS server to the Control Panel/Network/DNS config and see if this improves things:

      87.86.189.16

      Thanks

      Gavin

    10. #9
      lomaxgr's Avatar
      lomaxgr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broomhill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ok, thanks for the feedback guys!

      Firstly, im fairly sure noise margin isn't the issue im afraid It stays very constantly in the 7.2 - 7.6 region which is fine.

      As for the Sky dns server, i do have a question. On a standard netgear router there is an option to add this dns server, however the router you receive from sky (im assuming) has custom firmware, and there is no 'basic setup' or 'adsl setup' tab in the router - only a wireless setup one. Any suggestions as to how to setup the sky dns server?

      Thanks again for the feedback

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Try putting it in your network properties on your pc

      start> control panel> network connections> local area connection(the one connected)> right click> left click on properties> internet protocol - highlight with mouse> click properties> use the following dns addresses> ok




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 25-06-07, 07:44 PM
    2. 15-06-07, 11:36 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION