Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    wired sky

    This is a discussion on wired sky within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi new user here, i have been on sky bb since august now and have been very happy appart from ...

    1. #1
      GR3YFOX's Avatar
      GR3YFOX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question wired sky

      hi new user here, i have been on sky bb since august now and have been very happy appart from my conection keeps going off

      let me give you the story, after about 3 weeks of waiting with no internet i finaly got connected and i was faster than i have ever been (3mb speed) but every now and again the connection will just go dead and i have to reset or unplug my router to get my connection back which isnt good if you leave pc on at nite to download big files so i found this website which i have bookmarked and have been looking for similar problems which i have found but they all said they was wireless which i am not i just have my ethernet cable to my pc

      so any suggestions would be appricated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      What are you full line stats, A really low noise margin can cause frequent disconnections!

    4. #3
      GR3YFOX's Avatar
      GR3YFOX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ok i dont know how to get my stats plz advise

      p.s. that was i quick reply ty

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      go to your explorer bar at the top of the page

      type 192.168.0.1 then press enter

      username: admin

      password: sky

      at the bottom of that page, copy and then paste them in here




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site GR3YFOX

      To get the stats from the router click on this http://192.168.0.1
      Username: admin
      Password: sky

      You will be on the router status Page look at the bottom and you will see a button to get the router stats click on that then copy and paste them in here.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      GR3YFOX's Avatar
      GR3YFOX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      System Up Time 10:08:07
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1562204 1893530 0 10578 46198 10:06:39
      LAN 10M/100M 1890000 1563654 0 47070 11472 10:08:05
      WLAN 11M/54M 668 0 0 5 0 10:07:55

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 12.2 db 10.0 db



      really hope this is correct

    8. #7
      GR3YFOX's Avatar
      GR3YFOX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      any help would be apreciated as in does look like you lot 4got about me???

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Sorry! There are like 300+ Posts everyday! I try and float all over the place and help!

      Based on your attenuation of 53.0db,
      Based on the attenuation you entered, we estimate that your line can support around 3.0 - 6.0 Mbps on ADSL2+. - DSLZoneUK

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Quote Originally Posted by GR3YFOX View Post
      any help would be apreciated as in does look like you lot 4got about me???

      As if we could

      Go back into your router pages and try turning off the UPnP this seems to help solve the disconnections problem. If you dont use the wireless side turn that off as well. Its all in the router pages.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      GR3YFOX's Avatar
      GR3YFOX is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      thank you guys will try this now sorry didnt mean to complain b4 its just very infuriating when u play css and then suddenly you cant move

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION