Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 31

    Why is my connection so slow?

    This is a discussion on Why is my connection so slow? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by theg33k god dam mac users and there fancy pants sexy white airports heh just kiddin glad you ...

    1. #21
      rayrad's Avatar
      rayrad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by theg33k View Post
      god dam mac users and there fancy pants sexy white airports

      heh just kiddin glad you have found the problem
      found it - but can't fix it!

      changed the router setting to AUTO108Mbs - but down stays at 0.4 MB and up actually got worse! down to 0.3 MB

      as ever, any further thoughts very happily listened to!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Try changing the channel:

      same procedure, you may have to change from auto108 back to do this, its all on the same screen.

      Another thing you could try is the encryption etc, but lets do one thing at a time.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #23
      rayrad's Avatar
      rayrad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      okey doke

      should i go back to 108Mbs once i've changed channel?

      it's on 6 at the mo - is it better to choose something nearby or go back to 1 and work my way through?

      thanks again!

    5. #24
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      You are going to have to find the best channel, afaik you will need to go off auto to change it each time. Going to be a pain to go through but hopefully worth it in the end. Yes go back to auto108




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #25
      rayrad's Avatar
      rayrad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ok - i'll plough through

      may have to do it tomorrow though when my eyes work again

      it's friday night, i need a drink!

      i shall certainly be raising at least the first glass to you though

      great to find a forum like this with such helpful and generous folks

      which is kind of the point of the internet right?

      maybe that's why we all get so wound up when it doesn't work!

      anyhow - mucho cheers for all your help

      ray

    7. #26
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      You can have one for me no problems

      We are all here to help, sometimes we get frustrated, but life's too short to worry about the tinternet, but it happens!

      Keep us informed and don't get too drunk




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #27
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      try 1 6 11 first as those are the main channels.

      if its still poor, then look for anything that obvious blocking the signal

    9. #28
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      :idea: Any Microwaves About?

    10. #29
      rayrad's Avatar
      rayrad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      interestingly, when you switch from g & b back to Auto140, the channel automatically switches back to 6, no matter what you've set it at

      but - on the plus side - i seem to be (for no apparent reason) getting much better speeds today - between 2.5 and 5.5 MB/s

      still not the 9 or 10 i can get when wired, but a whole lot better than the last month's 0.5

      certainly enough to keep me happy

      for the moment!

      thanks again guys for all your help

      cheers
      ray

    11. #30
      rayrad's Avatar
      rayrad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 020
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i take it back

      i'm down to 1MB

      but router stats still showing 13MB

      any suggestions where i go next?

      no microwave by the way

      cheers!
      ray

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION