Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Adsl2

    This is a discussion on Adsl2 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Am i right in thinking if My exchange has LLU equipment in then it is ADSL2 enabled?...

    1. #1
      prolink's Avatar
      prolink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SKY+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Adsl2

      Am i right in thinking if My exchange has LLU equipment in then it is ADSL2 enabled?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Johnny7's Avatar
      Johnny7 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: High Wycombe (SMHY)
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      High Wycombe
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just because Easynet have at some point in the past unbundled an exchange does not mean the equipment is ADSL2 / ADSL2+ capable.

      My exchange was enabled 30/07/2002 and is capable of speeds upto 8Mbps.

      See http://www.samknows.com/broadband/ll...&sortorder=ASC for more info on Easynet/Sky LLU exchanges.
      John in High Wycombe

    4. #3
      prolink's Avatar
      prolink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SKY+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Ive looked at that but how do i tell if its ADSL2 enabled?
      thanks.

      Broadband availability overview
      ADSL: Yes
      SDSL: Yes
      LLU services: Yes
      Cable: No
      Wireless: No

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If SkyBB offered you the MAX package then your exchange should be ADSL2+ enabled as I understand it they have upgraded all the equipment in the exchanges to allow for ADSL2+.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      prolink's Avatar
      prolink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SKY+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Cheers, Yeah they offered me the MAX package but they are now saying my line only supports 8mb

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thats possible can you post and stats from your currant router or usb modem?
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      prolink's Avatar
      prolink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SKY+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.0 db 16.0 db
      Noise Margin 15.8 db 13.0 db

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well looking at those stats you should be getting a lot netter than that her are my stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.0 db 13.6 db
      Noise Margin 9.4 db 12.0 db


      As you can see not much different from yours.

      I see you have posted in the SatDish thread that you are having the same problem as a lot of other members so lets hope this can be sort asap.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      yelnrub's Avatar
      yelnrub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Bangor. N Ireland
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ADSL compatibility issue?

      Hi

      This is my first post on this site so hi to all.

      After a very shakey start I now have my Sky connect package operating well but in checking with my BT telephone exchange the following message appears against my phone number :-

      "There appears to be a compatability issue with your phone line. This could be caused by an existing DSL connection, ISDN, a DACS unit, TPON, a pending ADSL order or many other common issues. This will need to be resolved before ADSL can be supplied to your line".

      I am afraid all of the above is double dutch to me but as I have a reasonable Sky Broadband (connect) service at the moment is there any action that I would need to take (or should be taking)?

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site yelnrub

      Its normal and will say that as you already have an ADSL connection so nothing to worry about.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION