Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 30

    Connected....

    This is a discussion on Connected.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hmm, okay I was kind of expecting a bit better than this... Got home and tried my modem, installed the ...

    1. #1
      nFuriate's Avatar
      nFuriate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connected....

      Hmm, okay I was kind of expecting a bit better than this...

      Got home and tried my modem, installed the software and opened the router page and these are my stats:

      Connection Speed 6144 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 26.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 14.0 db

      Now before I was on this my attenuation was 36.5: why has it went up? And also why is my speed so sucky atm? I mean okay, I am running this modem on the floor, off a poor extension lead to to probably the furthest socket away from the master, but what the hell? The place where my modem is will be fixed tomorrow, when my 10m cat5e cable comes but still.

      Any suggestions on raising my speed? Think I may go and try the master socket now.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Can you add your connection stats here for us please?

      Are you on MAX and been capped at 416 Up ?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      If im not mistaken your Attenuation goes up slightly when moving from adsl to adsl2

    5. #4
      nFuriate's Avatar
      nFuriate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Stats from master socket

      Connection Speed 5824 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 26.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.9 db 13.0 db

      Now to try test socket. And if that doesn't do anything i'll try moving the modem downstairs to cut out this extension cable. It probably is the extension cable come to think of it, the end is half ripped apart.

      And also, if the attenuation only goes up slightly why does mine go up by 6.5db? Surely thats not slightly?
      Last edited by nFuriate; 22-11-06 at 05:20 PM.

    6. #5
      prolink's Avatar
      prolink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SKY+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      If im not mistaken your Attenuation goes up slightly when moving from adsl to adsl2
      mine has dropped down from 28 to 24-25 since going on the LLU

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      I dunno! Mine went up from 32.0db to 35.0db, Now its back 2 32.0db since iv been capped on maxdsl!

    8. #7
      nFuriate's Avatar
      nFuriate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      test socket stats:

      Connection Speed 7296 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 26.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 13.0 db

      went up from like 5600kbps but i'm on a mission to raise it!!!

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Don't forget that different routers will report attenuation differently so you need to compare the same router on the same line with ADSL then ADSL2+ to see what the difference is.

      There will be a difference as attenuation is a measure of the loss in power of electromagnetic signals between transmission and reception points. This will vary dependent on the frequency of the transmission. ADSL and ADSL2+ have different frequency characteristics.

    10. #9
      prolink's Avatar
      prolink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SKY+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Fibreoptic and Saturday you've both got me thinking; my Linksys reported mine as 28 whist on ZEN but the netgear reported the same connection as 24.
      The reported number is now 25 using the netgear and im now switched.
      So there is a slight increase and the reports differed due to different equipment being used.
      Something ive noticed though, my landline has some slight noise on it now.

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Noise on your landline tends to point to a faulty filter - are you using plug in ones?

      An easy way to test would be to power off and unplug the router. If the noise stops then the ADSL frequencies are getting through a filter to the phone.

      Then it's a case of removing all filters and phones bar one of each then swapping filters in and out to see which is faulty.

      If you have a filtered faceplate then still try the above but use a plug in filter too. If the noise then goes it's the faceplate at fault.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION