Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    Connected....

    This is a discussion on Connected.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; MAJOR UPDATE: I sent an email yesterday, to the Sky technical support team about my poor upload and download speed. ...

    1. #21
      nFuriate's Avatar
      nFuriate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      MAJOR UPDATE:

      I sent an email yesterday, to the Sky technical support team about my poor upload and download speed. Guess what? I got a call from them today!

      They said:

      There's capacity problems on the exchanges and according to the guy, the fastest I can get is 5.5mb (he's reading that from a script, thats adsl max!). They said that i've basically got the mid package setup because of the capacity problems, and he could not say if I would get any faster speeds at the moment. He said that we could downgrade to the mid package if we wanted too(which I don't want too, as there's hope in sight!).

      I guess I will have to monitor the situation. It seems to me that the reason why we've got lower speeds is that Sky are trying to get as many customers as possible (quoted from the guy here).

      Well I think now we know why we're on lower speeds. The guy said that they're constantly upgrading the equipment, so we'll have to wait until they get more DSLAMS in the exchanges!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      This gets me thinking...

      If someone who's getting below 8Mb sync speed locks their modem to G.DMT (There's a hack somewhere to do it) would it:

      A. Fail to sync at all?
      B. Sync just the same?
      C. Sync at a Higher speed?
      D. Sync at a lower speed?

      Guesses / experimental results anyone?

    4. #23
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Guesses / experimental results anyone?
      can we do this in the Tech forum? if it involves hacks etc




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #24
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      @nFuriate, There is a ongoing issue on my exchange with capacity, Im going to give them a call later and see what there responce is to it!

    6. #25
      youravinalarrrf's Avatar
      youravinalarrrf is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: MYBD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      327
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      This link might help a few check their exchanges for congestion:-

      http://www.nildram.net/support/tools/congestion_checker/

      I think the dates it gives for provisional upgrades are just pure fantasy. Mine's been on RED for eons and the dates just keep moving forward and the upgrades never actually happen!!!

    7. #26
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Results for exchange: Redditch Old Town
      Congestion

      Congestion status on this exchange is GREEN.

      Your telephone line is on an un-congested exchange.
      Major Service Outages

      There are no Major Service Outages on your line at this present time

      ---------------------------------------------------


      They seem to have fixed my exchange, Though I havent seen a difference!

    8. #27
      nFuriate's Avatar
      nFuriate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darlington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Congestion
      Congestion status on this exchange is GREEN.

      Your telephone line is on an un-congested exchange.

      Major Service Outages
      There are no Major Service Outages on your line at this present time

      Well that doesn't seem to add up....that's probably bt dslams and not sky's?

    9. #28
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Yeah! My exchange had been red since like months... and now its green! Must be on BT's Part!

    10. #29
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Possibly BT have added or upgraded the exchanges concerned, however I dont think the exchange checker so to speak, covers the Easynet kit, so would only afaik help the people on Connect to have extra bandwith or less contention.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #30
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Yeah! Most probably is! Well my exchange has gone up to RED again lol

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION