Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    New Connection Speed

    This is a discussion on New Connection Speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've got hooked up with Sky's 16mb package about a week ago. It started out really well but since has ...

    1. #1
      druidvideo's Avatar
      druidvideo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Vauxhall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Connection Speed

      I've got hooked up with Sky's 16mb package about a week ago. It started out really well but since has been all over the place and was getting less than dialup out of it last night to nothing at all then back to about 3000-5000Mb/s and anything in between. The router also seems to reboot itself several times a day. Original Stats in sig. Yesterdays below.

      Attenuation Down 39db Up 24db
      SNR Down 7db to 9db UP 11.5


      Is this all part of the 'line training' process? or should I be calling Sky.

      TIA for any help
      Last edited by druidvideo; 21-11-06 at 12:07 PM.
      Sync - D-11221 kbps U-766 kbps
      Attenuation D-38.5 db U-24.8 db
      Noise Margin D-6.9 db U-11.5 db
      Distance to Exchange - 1.14km


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      need more info as you should be getting better speeds.

      extension cables being used? on master socket? tried the test socket, if all these things have been done or removed and you still getting eratic speeds you may need capped as have a poor quality line. this would need a ticket raised so you would need to call support and go through the procedures first.

    4. #3
      druidvideo's Avatar
      druidvideo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Vauxhall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Info

      When I unscrewed to BT socket there was no master socket like I was expecting. Just one pair terminated to the back of the front socket (and a load of other pairs going nowhere). I am running an extension cable but its brand new (used at my old house with no problems) and I have been watching the SNR and its no worse than it was when the router was plugged directly into the socket.

      Maybe the socket in the reception is an extension of the bedroom one. Will have to pull the cover off that one tonight.

      Thanks for you reply :-)
      Last edited by druidvideo; 21-11-06 at 12:25 PM.
      Sync - D-11221 kbps U-766 kbps
      Attenuation D-38.5 db U-24.8 db
      Noise Margin D-6.9 db U-11.5 db
      Distance to Exchange - 1.14km

    5. #4
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      cool, but if you tell t1 that they will tell you its the problem, so just say no extensions, so even when its directly connected your having the same issue?

    6. #5
      druidvideo's Avatar
      druidvideo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Vauxhall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by theg33k View Post
      cool, but if you tell t1 that they will tell you its the problem, so just say no extensions, so even when its directly connected your having the same issue?
      Always!!
      Sync - D-11221 kbps U-766 kbps
      Attenuation D-38.5 db U-24.8 db
      Noise Margin D-6.9 db U-11.5 db
      Distance to Exchange - 1.14km

    7. #6
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      k m8 get a ticket raised for intermitant connection.

    8. #7
      druidvideo's Avatar
      druidvideo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Vauxhall
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speeds

      Is there any reason why it would be super fast at night, and dog slow in the morning? Doesn't seem to make sense if its my extension etc.
      Sync - D-11221 kbps U-766 kbps
      Attenuation D-38.5 db U-24.8 db
      Noise Margin D-6.9 db U-11.5 db
      Distance to Exchange - 1.14km

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Its about contention, Alot of users on your exchange may be online during the day!

    10. #9
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      its more than likely your line needs afew things adjusted, alot more traffic in the morning and during the day and early evening as all the buisnesses are on and home users early evening.

      once u have a ticket raised someone will take a look at it.

    11. #10
      Naan_H's Avatar
      Naan_H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sorry to but in here, this one is for theg33k. If one keeps disconnecting like the OP has, does the system automatically start capping your connection speed?

      the reason i ask is that my bro just got connected and i think he has a lot of noise on the line due to internal wiring, he synchs at about 9mbit (he should be getting more). Basically, if he has been on 9mb for weeks on end and if work is done on the line (like installing a faceplate) and improves the stats, will sky keep him on 9mb even tho his line can support more after the improvements?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION