Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Connected today but I am not to happy.

    This is a discussion on Connected today but I am not to happy. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I got connected today but I am not to happy, I am supposed to be on the max but my ...

    1. #1
      jjwf's Avatar
      jjwf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connected today but I am not to happy.

      I got connected today but I am not to happy, I am supposed to be on the max but my upload speed is showing as 416. I have shown my previous figures with F2s with my d link router & the new with the sky router can anyone tell me what package I have been put on. My speed is laso only around 7meg instead of the 10-14 I was expecting.

      this is the d link router.



      this is the sky router.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 21-11-06 at 04:12 PM. Reason: fixed img tags


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      okay so your getting a more stable connection and stats on our service and your upstream is slightly lower than your previous. remember the service is UPTO 16mb depends on what your line can take you have gd stats so we could possibly try get more.

      phone tier1 go through the tests, test socket? extension being used? etc etc and then when you have a ticker raised we will take a look at it and get back to you.

      but your stats look good from here.

      the down line atten is a bug btw its actualy at about 40

    4. #3
      jjwf's Avatar
      jjwf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ok phoned tier 1 and was told as this is my first day the speed tends to be a little on the low side and that later today or tomorrow I should be receiving between 10-14 meg. Have I been told the correct line. Also I downloaded a large file over 500meg & averaged around 830kbs does this seem right. Thanks for the help.
      Last edited by jjwf; 21-11-06 at 04:24 PM.

    5. #4
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by jjwf View Post
      Also I downloaded a large file over 500meg & averaged around 830kbs does this seem right.
      Is this done simply by timing how long the download takes and doing the maths ? Or is there a piece of software which can monitor/measure it automatically ?

    6. #5
      madman's Avatar
      madman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wandsworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      well when you download a file, the dialigoue tells you what speed its downloading at, usally every download starts very fast then slows down a bit. Also the speed you get depends on where you are downloading from
      Last edited by Wheelie; 22-11-06 at 10:21 AM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    7. #6
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I know all that .... but AFAIK the dialogue box only tells you the speed it is currently downloading at and not the average.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 22-11-06 at 10:21 AM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    8. #7
      Alistair S's Avatar
      Alistair S is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Going by those stats I would say you aren't getting Max. Maybe you will tomorrow.

      I do know I synced at full speed straight off. Those stats look like you should get a much higher sync rate, and it looks all round like an 8Mb tariff to me. Unless your line att stats account for it (I just noticed that those you report aren't accurately reported by the modem).
      Last edited by Alistair S; 21-11-06 at 08:02 PM.

    9. #8
      jjwf's Avatar
      jjwf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ok I have rebooted the routed & here are the lastest stats, am I being capped at 8meg.
      Last edited by jjwf; 21-11-06 at 11:31 PM.

    10. #9
      Naan_H's Avatar
      Naan_H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi mate in a similar situation to yourself (please see my thread). To cut a long story short, i was gettting 8mbit on adsl1 and when transferring to adsl2+ with sky today my sync speed is 8.8, hardly an improvement!

      line stats are quite similar to yours apart from my upstream which is 768Kbps. I hope the sync speed increases tomorrow

    11. #10
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      remember just because you have a decent atten etc does not guarantee your line quality and that it can take the highest speed available.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION