Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    Where has my green internet light gone?

    This is a discussion on Where has my green internet light gone? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I've been connected to sky base for about 6 weeks, no real problems after eventually getting activated (I think ...

    1. #1
      mdale's Avatar
      mdale is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Where has my green internet light gone?

      Hi,

      I've been connected to sky base for about 6 weeks, no real problems after eventually getting activated (I think next doors ISDN line was causing problems) but as of Saturday morning (17th Nov 2006) my green internet light has gone out, and I can't connect.

      I am on the Leamington Spa exchange and am about 5km from the exchange (hence I didn't bother going for anything faster than the base package )
      I've had my fair share of dropped connections but the light hasn't gone off since I was properly connected.

      Anyone else having this problem on this exchange or any other?

      Martin.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      gingerbreadman06's Avatar
      gingerbreadman06 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      if your internet light has gone out it can be a number of things
      are you using any extention cables (telephone) ???
      or are you connected to a slave or master socket
      the best thing to do would be remove all other telephone equipment in your house and plug it straight into the master socket if u still get no net light try swopping microfilters if still no joy you could try your test socket (if u have one)
      u can tell as your master socket would have a line horizontally thru the middle of it but not everyone has it so dont worry of you dont
      if youve tryed all that call sky as it could be an outage or something on there end
      hope it helps!!!!!
      chess a bunch of kings sit about as the pawns are sent to their death's , now if all the pawns got together maybe talked the rook's round

    4. #3
      mdale's Avatar
      mdale is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ging,

      I haven't tried any of those things as I can't see why that would be a problem. It was working fine when I went to bed on Friday night and it was gone on the Saturday morning. It's as if I've been disconnected from the exchange. I've read a few posts about people being "ceased", I'll have to give sky a phone.

      TIP, have a look on saynoto0870.com for a geographical replacement telephone number (01506 .......)

      Martin

    5. #4
      Shadow UK's Avatar
      Shadow UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newbury
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      hi i had same prob yesterday my light went off in morn i called tech help how checked my line he said it was a port disabled they didnt know why but he managed to correct this. it is a possibilty but at least if they check the line u can eliminate this before you rip all apart good luck.
      I haven't failed, I've found 10,000 ways that don't work.

    6. #5
      gingerbreadman06's Avatar
      gingerbreadman06 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      phone sky and tell them ur issue the will run a tone tet if that fails then they will log a fault to bt (u get passed to tier 2 here inist to goto tier 2 no calbacks!!!!!) and if they cant log your fault (they get an error like this is not a valid line) get them to phone provisions and find out if a cease did happini it might be it an exchange fault or (which hopefullly it aint) a cease issue
      chess a bunch of kings sit about as the pawns are sent to their death's , now if all the pawns got together maybe talked the rook's round

    7. #6
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      IF Tier 1 have raised a valid fault ticket we can raise a fault with BT But without one we cant, so ensure Tier 1 have raised a ticket otherwise we will refuse the call!(as simply,we have our own work to do without doing Tier 1's for them!)
      Last edited by Wheelie; 22-11-06 at 10:08 AM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User

    8. #7
      mdale's Avatar
      mdale is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Spike/Gingerbreadman,

      I tried plugging my router into the test socket etc with no success so I called Tech support last night and they said that the port was down.

      They ran a tone test which was successful - hooray, my hearing works! shame about my connection.

      Anyway, my problem has been passed to Tier 3, so I've got a 5 day wait....

      If I was paying for this service I'd ask for a refund
      Anyone else noticed that the microfilters knock 1/3 off the connection speed of dial-up?

    9. #8
      gingerbreadman06's Avatar
      gingerbreadman06 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      a tone test proves that there is bb on the line it seems funny that u didnt get one in the test socket for arguements sake will you try disconnecting everything from the line and connect to the test socket again to see if u can g et one (might save u a 5 day wait)
      chess a bunch of kings sit about as the pawns are sent to their death's , now if all the pawns got together maybe talked the rook's round

    10. #9
      mdale's Avatar
      mdale is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I'll give that a try but I don't hold out much hope. Anyway, I think the orange flashy light looks pretty, I might stick it on my Christmas tree in a couple of weeks

      I suppose I could have a modem fault. Does anyone know how to check whether the modem is working correctly?

      Martin

    11. #10
      AB.com's Avatar
      AB.com is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woking
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Maybury
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @mdale: I had the exact same problem. Once I finally got Tier 3 on the case it took them about 6 days to restore the connection.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION