Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    Where has my green internet light gone?

    This is a discussion on Where has my green internet light gone? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Martin Its very possible that it is the card in the exchange but it could also be the router ...

    1. #11
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi Martin

      Its very possible that it is the card in the exchange but it could also be the router as they have been known to fry, do you have a spare router or usb modem or can you borrow one from someone to test the line connection namely to see if the (i) Internet light tries to work.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      mdale's Avatar
      mdale is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well, its been nearly a week without any connection (apart from dial-up which is hampered by the microfilters knocking 30% off the connection speed). Since I didn't phone Tech Support until Monday I've only got one day left to wait before I can start hassling Tier3 to get it sorted - hopefully.

      Martin.

    4. #13
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Mdale.
      Are you useing a extension or is the Router straight into the Master socket?

    5. #14
      mdale's Avatar
      mdale is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I was away for the weekend so finally got around to calling Tech Support last night. Got through fine on the 0800 number, was eventually passed through to T3 support, had a nice chat with the guy who was very helpful and did eventually get my connection back but it has to be capped at 150k since the line quality has somehow deteriorated significantly since I was first connected, and even then only through the test socket, it couldn't even synch through main socket. I can't remember what all my stats were but the attenuation last night was reading 63dB - in the noise floor

      I was getting about 800k (I do live 5km from the exchange, as the crow flies so there must be at least 10km of cable) but this is just a joke. The TS guy suggested it might be the cold & damp weather causing a dodgy connection. He suggested getting a BT Healthcheck, where an engineer comes an checks all the wiring etc. Anybody got any experience of this? how much does BT charge?

      At least its slightly faster than dial-up (I'm not a heavy user) and I can use my phone at the same time.

      I'll keep a note of my ticket number and try and get the cap lifted when the weather improves!!

      Martin

    6. #15
      Anon's Avatar
      Anon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If there is a fault with the line causing those intermittant results, then BT won't charge anything.

      Use the online fault reporter on the BT website, and raise a telephony fault, if the BT line test picks up an issue on your line then it'll automatically arrange for an engineer to investigate. If it doesn't pick up a fault, it'll just tell you there is nothing wrong, so you won't have lost anything.

      Worth a try.

    7. #16
      mike1229's Avatar
      mike1229 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Internet Light!!!!!!

      Hi,

      I've got the exact same problem as 'mdale'. Although its now been over a month for me since my green Internet light first went off on the router and i really don't know what else to do so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

      I have tried all of the above, and i have spent hours and hours on the phone regarding this problem - its turning into an absolute nightmare. Ive tried the router at a friends house and the green 'i' light came on fine, so i know its not a problem with the equipment. I first called Sky ages ago and explained everything and went through the troubleshooting over the phone. I was then told it could be a problem with the exchange. After looking into this, there wasnt a problem there.

      Calling sky is a joke, ive been cut off before, told to ring a number that doesnt exist, and told that i cant cancel because im on a contract!!!!! A ticket was raised a month ago but ive lost my reference number - oops!

      I called my phone line provder, Pipex, who said it will cost 65 for an engineer to come out and then 64 per hour to test the line - and then its only regarding the phone, not broadband.

      When i call sky (which is almost in my daily routine) when they try to perform a tone test they say theres a problem and to call back another time, or they'll say they will put me on hold while they set up the test, and then i get cut off.

      Please please advise me of what to do next.

      Thanks.

      Mike.

    8. #17
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi Mike

      Real sorry mate not sure that there is much more you can do as you seem to have covered everything.

      You have a PM
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #18
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      @Mike-
      If you call tier 1 the ticket number is on the Technical Enquiry in Chordiant.If the ticket was raised correctly & is'nt closed,ask to be put thru to Tier 2 where,if we can,we'll help you as best as we can & keep you updated.

    10. #19
      mike1229's Avatar
      mike1229 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks very much for that. i called the 0800 number before lunch and got through to a really nice woman who put me on hold for a while while she spoke to her manager. she asked what time i would be home at tonight and told me that he would be calling me back this evening so they can perform more tests on the line.

      i explained to her that on numerous occassions people from different deparments have supposed to be calling me back, and no-one from sky ever has. im not going to get my hopes up though. i asked what time they would be open till and she said, 24 hours - so i told her to get him call anytime, even if its the middle of the night!!

      i'll keep ya posted!!

      Mike.

    11. #20
      Ricey155's Avatar
      Ricey155 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exhall, Coventry - CMEXH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Woodshires Green, Coventry
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Never seen a green light on my router your lucky lol

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION